Skip to content
Best College Rankings

By student

What are the best colleges for students who don't have perfect grades?

The short answer

Target schools that admit close to half of applicants or more but still produce strong earnings, because that is where the gap between selectivity and outcome is widest. WPI admits 60.2% and its graduates reach median earnings of $103,470; Colorado School of Mines admits 60.7% and reaches $97,335. Both beat most of the far more selective institutions in this dataset. Further down the selectivity scale, Drexel admits 79.4%, Arizona 86.1% and UC Merced 90.5% — all three still worth considering, though each carries graduation-rate risk you should look at before committing.

The list

  1. 1

    Worcester Polytechnic Institute

    Worcester, MA · Private nonprofit · 5,447 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    60.2% / $103,470

    Fully test-blind, so a strong transcript and genuine interest in project work carry the application. Records no failing grades on transcripts, which lowers the cost of academic risk-taking, and 89.7% of students finish within six years.

    Acceptance rate
    60.2%
    Average net price
    $43,071
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $103,470
    6-yr graduation rate
    89.7%
    Median federal debt
    $27,000
  2. 2

    Colorado School of Mines

    Golden, CO · Public · 6,155 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    60.7% / $97,335

    One of the largest selectivity-to-outcome gaps in the country: $97,335 median earnings while admitting 60.7% of applicants. Arrive with strong calculus and physics preparation.

    Acceptance rate
    60.7%
    Average net price
    $28,690
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $97,335
    6-yr graduation rate
    81.7%
    Median federal debt
    $23,000
  3. 3

    Drexel University

    Philadelphia, PA · Private nonprofit · 13,233 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    79.4% / $84,648

    Full co-op infrastructure in a major city without selective credentials. Examine the 78.2% graduation rate and $25,325 median debt closely against your aid offer.

    Acceptance rate
    79.4%
    Average net price
    $38,509
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $84,648
    6-yr graduation rate
    78.2%
    Median federal debt
    $25,325
  4. 4

    Rochester Institute of Technology

    Rochester, NY · Private nonprofit · 13,215 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    66.9% / $76,571

    Required co-op means professional experience is guaranteed by the degree structure. The caution is a 69.9% six-year graduation rate — ask about advising support in your major.

    Acceptance rate
    66.9%
    Average net price
    $34,906
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $76,571
    6-yr graduation rate
    69.9%
    Median federal debt
    $26,778
  5. 5

    Elon University

    Elon, NC · Private nonprofit · 6,452 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    66.3% / $74,545

    Nationally recognised for experiential learning and study abroad, with a 11:1 ratio and faculty promoted on teaching. Earnings of $74,545 against a $41,555 net price are a modest return, so the value depends on using the programs hard.

    Acceptance rate
    66.3%
    Average net price
    $41,555
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $74,545
    6-yr graduation rate
    84.0%
    Median federal debt
    $20,500
  6. 6

    Purdue University

    West Lafayette, IN · Public · 44,503 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    49.9% / $72,424

    Top-ten engineering at a 49.9% admit rate and in-state tuition frozen at $9,992. Probably the best combination of attainability, price and outcome available anywhere.

    Acceptance rate
    49.9%
    Average net price
    $14,600
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $72,424
    6-yr graduation rate
    83.1%
    Median federal debt
    $19,500
  7. 7

    University of California, Merced

    Merced, CA · Public · 8,372 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    90.5% / $64,368

    The most attainable University of California campus at a 90.5% acceptance rate, and test-blind, so scores cannot count against you. A full research university at a $11,983 average net price. The honest caution is a 68.7% graduation rate.

    Acceptance rate
    90.5%
    Average net price
    $11,983
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $64,368
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.7%
    Median federal debt
    $16,144
  8. 8

    University of Arizona

    Tucson, AZ · Public · 42,537 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    86.1% / $59,979

    World-class astronomy and optical sciences with predictable automatic merit aid for out-of-state students. The 67.5% graduation rate is the real risk; the Honors College substantially mitigates it.

    Acceptance rate
    86.1%
    Average net price
    $16,674
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $59,979
    6-yr graduation rate
    67.5%
    Median federal debt
    $19,620
  9. 9

    Miami University

    Oxford, OH · Public · 16,656 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    75.4% / $55,076

    One of the original eight 'Public Ivies,' repeatedly cited for undergraduate teaching quality, with a strong business school at in-state tuition of $18,161.

    Acceptance rate
    75.4%
    Average net price
    $28,384
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,076
    6-yr graduation rate
    79.8%
    Median federal debt
    $23,000
  10. 10

    Grove City College

    Grove City, PA · Private nonprofit · 2,216 undergraduates

    Acceptance rate / earnings

    72.3% / not reported

    Admits 72.3% of applicants and graduates 83.2% of them within six years — a combination almost nothing else on this list matches. It sorts last only because it declined federal student aid, so the Department of Education holds no earnings figure for it at all. Read that cell as unknown, not as low.

    Acceptance rate
    72.3%
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    Not reported
    6-yr graduation rate
    83.2%
    Median federal debt
    Not reported

Frequently asked questions

Less than most families assume, and not in the way they assume. Research comparing students admitted to selective colleges against similar students who attended less selective ones finds little earnings difference for most students — with the notable exception of low-income and first-generation students, for whom selective institutions do produce a real gain. What consistently matters more is your major, whether you finish the degree, and whether you accumulate relevant experience while enrolled.

WPI is the clearest case in this dataset: median earnings of $103,470 ten years after entry at a 60.2% acceptance rate. Colorado School of Mines at 60.7% with $97,335 and Purdue at 49.9% with $72,424 are close behind. The common factor is that all three are engineering-dominant, which raises median earnings independent of selectivity — a caution as much as a recommendation, since it says more about the major than the school.

UC Merced, which admits 90.5% of applicants — the highest rate in this dataset — while being a full University of California campus with doctoral programs and federal research funding. It is also test-blind, like every UC, so scores cannot be held against you. The trade-offs are honest ones: a 68.7% six-year graduation rate and a 21:1 student-faculty ratio, against an average net price of $11,983.

Generally yes, if your scores fall below the school's published middle-50% range, because a low score usually does more damage than an absent one. But understand that test-optional shifts weight onto your transcript, course rigor and essays, so those need to carry the application. A handful of schools, including WPI and every University of California campus, are test-blind and will not look at scores even if you send them.

How this list was ordered

Median earnings ten years after entry, highest first, restricted to institutions admitting 45% or more of applicants. Acceptance rate is shown beside earnings so you can see both halves of the trade. Colleges with no reported earnings sort last rather than first.

Inclusion criteria

  • Acceptance rate of 45% or higher.
  • Median earnings ten years after entry at or above $55,000, or an explanation in the entry where the federal collections do not report the figure.
  • No single-digit-admit selective program gatekeeping the whole institution.
  • Test-optional or test-blind admission, or transparent alternative criteria.
10 schools comparedUpdated September 1, 2026