Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Adams State University

Students comparing Adams State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Alamosa, Colorado1,250 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 59Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Adams State University: Washington Monthly ranks it #1035 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1288 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,250 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 39.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,944; aid recipients pay $12,980 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,372.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Adams State University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$12,980

59% below the $31,764 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,372

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
39.4%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$19,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedAdams State University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Adams State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1035of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1288of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Adams State's position moves 19 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Adams State

Adams State University is a public institution in Alamosa, Colorado. Federal data show 50.7% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $12,980 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $31,764 sticker cost against $12,980 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Adams State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$9,824

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$21,944

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,820

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $31,764 a year, but the average family pays $12,980 — a 59% difference. 37.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Adams State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    50.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,250

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Adams State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $21,944 and on-campus room and board is $9,820, for a published total of $31,764 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $12,980.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of Hawaii at Hilo

    Hilo, HIPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Hawaii at Hilo: U.S. News ranks it #329 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #643 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #425 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1492 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 2,160 undergraduates, admits 60.6% of applicants, and posts a 48.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,798; aid recipients pay $11,856 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,856.

    Acceptance rate
    60.6%
    Average net price
    $11,856
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,856
    6-yr graduation rate
    48.4%
    US News · National universities#329 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#643 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#425 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    2,160 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 58 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Western Colorado University

    Gunnison, COPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Western Colorado University: U.S. News ranks it #70 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1050 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1344 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,586 undergraduates, admits 99.7% of applicants, and posts a 50.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,434; aid recipients pay $16,425 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,833.

    Acceptance rate
    99.7%
    Average net price
    $16,425
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,833
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#70 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1050 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1344 of 2,605

    1,586 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Southern Oregon University

    Ashland, ORPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Southern Oregon University: U.S. News ranks it #87 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #932 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1239 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,751 undergraduates, admits 88.6% of applicants, and posts a 42.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,887; aid recipients pay $16,732 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,175.

    Acceptance rate
    88.6%
    Average net price
    $16,732
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,175
    6-yr graduation rate
    42.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#87 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#932 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1239 of 2,605

    2,751 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Adams State against these