Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Bob Jones University

Students comparing Bob Jones University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Greenville, South Carolina2,005 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 41Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Bob Jones University: U.S. News ranks it #17 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #777 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #395 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #536 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 2,005 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 64.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,470; aid recipients pay $16,641 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,354.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Bob Jones University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$16,641

52% below the $34,850 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,354

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
64.8%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$16,585

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedBob Jones University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Bob Jones ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#17of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#777of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#395of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#536of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges4 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Bob Jones's position moves 66 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Bob Jones

Bob Jones University is a private nonprofit institution in Greenville, South Carolina. Federal data show 82.5% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,641 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $34,850 sticker cost against $16,641 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Bob Jones University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$24,470

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
32.9%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,380

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $34,850 a year, but the average family pays $16,641 — a 52% difference. 32.9% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Bob Jones's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    82.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,005

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Bob Jones: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $24,470 and on-campus room and board is $10,380, for a published total of $34,850 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,641.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Rollins College

    Winter Park, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Rollins College: U.S. News ranks it #2 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #377 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #577 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #355 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #347 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 10 Health Services. It enrolls 2,631 undergraduates, admits 47.5% of applicants, and posts a 75.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $60,580; aid recipients pay $34,732 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $58,295.

    Acceptance rate
    47.5%
    Average net price
    $34,732
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $58,295
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#2 of 135Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#377 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#577 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,631 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 40 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Catholic University of America

    Washington, DCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Catholic University of America: U.S. News ranks it #169 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #286 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #783 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #262 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #270 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #16 Most Engaged in Community Service. It enrolls 3,154 undergraduates, admits 82.8% of applicants, and posts a 79.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $58,378; aid recipients pay $29,561 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $73,250.

    Acceptance rate
    82.8%
    Average net price
    $29,561
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $73,250
    6-yr graduation rate
    79.5%
    US News · National universities#169 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#286 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#783 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    3,154 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 42 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Tulsa

    Tulsa, OKPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Tulsa: U.S. News ranks it #158 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #205 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #664 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #299 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #102 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1178 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 2,813 undergraduates, admits 61.5% of applicants, and posts a 72.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $50,061; aid recipients pay $15,000 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $61,408.

    Acceptance rate
    61.5%
    Average net price
    $15,000
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $61,408
    6-yr graduation rate
    72.3%
    US News · National universities#158 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#205 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#664 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    2,813 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Bob Jones against these