Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Charter Oak State College

Students comparing Charter Oak State College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

New Britain, Connecticut1,821 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 74Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Charter Oak State College: Forbes ranks it #389 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #1852 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,821 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 66.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,506; aid recipients pay $15,815 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,209.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Charter Oak State College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$15,815

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$64,209

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
66.7%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$18,683

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedCharter Oak State College did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Charter Oak State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top Colleges#389of 500Top colleges (Forbes)
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1852of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Charter Oak State's position moves 7 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a moderate spread; the ranking you look at changes the answer somewhat. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Charter Oak State

Charter Oak State College is a public institution in New Britain, Connecticut. Federal data show 100.0% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,815 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $15,815 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Charter Oak State College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,506

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$8,506

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Charter Oak State College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Charter Oak State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    100.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,821

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Charter Oak State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $8,506 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,815.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Maine Maritime Academy

    Castine, MEPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Maine Maritime Academy: U.S. News ranks it #7 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #366 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #618 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #490 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 942 undergraduates, admits 54.1% of applicants, and posts a 58.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,102; aid recipients pay $23,414 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $89,964.

    Acceptance rate
    54.1%
    Average net price
    $23,414
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $89,964
    6-yr graduation rate
    58.2%
    US News · Regional colleges (North)#7 of 68Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#366 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#618 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    942 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Massachusetts Maritime Academy

    Buzzards Bay, MAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Massachusetts Maritime Academy: U.S. News ranks it #10 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #356 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #761 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 1,395 undergraduates, admits 94.7% of applicants, and posts a 74.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $23,722; aid recipients pay $21,582 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $82,392.

    Acceptance rate
    94.7%
    Average net price
    $21,582
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $82,392
    6-yr graduation rate
    74.1%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#10 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#356 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#761 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,395 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 35 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

    Syracuse, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry: U.S. News ranks it #158 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #432 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #318 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #2 Green Matters: Everyone Cares About Conservation. It enrolls 1,839 undergraduates, admits 63.3% of applicants, and posts a 66.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,263; aid recipients pay $18,952 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,763.

    Acceptance rate
    63.3%
    Average net price
    $18,952
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,763
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.3%
    US News · National universities#158 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#432 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#318 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    1,839 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 45 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Charter Oak State against these