Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

College of the Ozarks

Students comparing College of the Ozarks on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Point Lookout, Missouri1,444 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 24Private nonprofitHighly selectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

College of the Ozarks: U.S. News ranks it #4 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #151 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #389 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #141 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,444 undergraduates, admits 12.0% of applicants, and posts a 63.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,320; aid recipients pay $6,100 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $41,592.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
12.0%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$6,100

80% below the $31,120 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$41,592

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
63.7%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by College of the Ozarks in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
1050–1220

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where College of ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (Midwest)#4of 94Regional colleges (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#151of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#389of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)A-#141of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges4.5 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)ListedOverall (Niche)
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: College of's position moves 74 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About College of

College of the Ozarks is a private nonprofit institution in Point Lookout, Missouri. Federal data show 90.2% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $6,100 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $31,120 sticker cost against $6,100 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing College of the Ozarks on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$22,320

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
49.2%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$8,800

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $31,120 a year, but the average family pays $6,100 — a 80% difference. 49.2% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run College of's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    90.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,444

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    College of: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $22,320 and on-campus room and board is $8,800, for a published total of $31,120 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $6,100.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 12.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Grinnell College

    Grinnell, IAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Grinnell College: U.S. News ranks it #19 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #116 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #106 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #284 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #109 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #11 Best College Newspaper. It enrolls 1,729 undergraduates, admits 14.5% of applicants, and posts a 88.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $68,106; aid recipients pay $17,648 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $62,830.

    Acceptance rate
    14.5%
    Average net price
    $17,648
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $62,830
    6-yr graduation rate
    88.1%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#19 of 207Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#116 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#106 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    1,729 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 20 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Bates College

    Lewiston, MEPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Bates College: U.S. News ranks it #24 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #100 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #41 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #376 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #78 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #13 Best Campus Food. It enrolls 1,760 undergraduates, admits 13.3% of applicants, and posts a 89.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $66,590; aid recipients pay $29,351 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $69,498.

    Acceptance rate
    13.3%
    Average net price
    $29,351
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $69,498
    6-yr graduation rate
    89.7%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#24 of 207Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#100 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#41 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    1,760 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 23 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Hamilton College

    Clinton, NYPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Hamilton College: U.S. News ranks it #14 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #73 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #178 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #204 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #49 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #20 Best Science Lab Facilities. It enrolls 2,030 undergraduates, admits 13.6% of applicants, and posts a 90.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $68,960; aid recipients pay $28,985 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $78,411.

    Acceptance rate
    13.6%
    Average net price
    $28,985
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $78,411
    6-yr graduation rate
    90.6%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#14 of 207Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#73 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#178 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,030 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 15 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare College of against these