Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

CUNY Medgar Evers College

Students comparing CUNY Medgar Evers College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Brooklyn, New York3,233 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 53Public universitySmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

CUNY Medgar Evers College: U.S. News ranks it #181 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #342 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1281 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,233 undergraduates, admits 86.1% of applicants, and posts a 19.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,302; aid recipients pay $5,718 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,498.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
86.1%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$5,718

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,498

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
19.8%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$10,988

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
850–1020

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where CUNY Medgar Evers ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Liberal Arts Colleges#181of 210Liberal arts colleges
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#342of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1281of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: CUNY Medgar Evers's position moves 63 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About CUNY Medgar Evers

CUNY Medgar Evers College is a public institution in Brooklyn, New York. Federal data show 49.7% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $5,718 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $5,718 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing CUNY Medgar Evers College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,352

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$15,302

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by CUNY Medgar Evers College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run CUNY Medgar Evers's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    49.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    3,233

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    CUNY Medgar Evers: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $15,302 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $5,718.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 86.1%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Harris-Stowe State University

    Saint Louis, MOPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Harris-Stowe State University: U.S. News ranks it #67 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #893 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #809 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 960 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 27.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,640; aid recipients pay $9,922 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,088.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $9,922
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $31,088
    6-yr graduation rate
    27.6%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#67 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#893 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#809 of 2,605

    960 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Worcester State University

    Worcester, MAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Worcester State University: U.S. News ranks it #97 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #565 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #964 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 3,930 undergraduates, admits 88.0% of applicants, and posts a 61.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,866; aid recipients pay $13,381 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,624.

    Acceptance rate
    88.0%
    Average net price
    $13,381
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,624
    6-yr graduation rate
    61.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#97 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#565 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#964 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    3,930 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Northeastern Illinois University

    Chicago, ILPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Northeastern Illinois University: U.S. News ranks it #148 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #211 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #324 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #396 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,982 undergraduates, admits 74.6% of applicants, and posts a 21.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,726; aid recipients pay $14,109 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,234.

    Acceptance rate
    74.6%
    Average net price
    $14,109
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,234
    6-yr graduation rate
    21.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#148 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#211 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#324 of 500+1 more on profile

    3,982 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare CUNY Medgar Evers against these