Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Dalton State College

Students comparing Dalton State College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Dalton, Georgia4,553 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 40Public universityResearch universityU.S. News ranked

The short answer

Dalton State College: U.S. News ranks it #41 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #174 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #430 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #849 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 4,553 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 25.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $10,656; aid recipients pay $5,012 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,251.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Dalton State College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$5,012

76% below the $21,075 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$40,251

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
25.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$12,937

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedDalton State College did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Dalton State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#41of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#174of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#430of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#849of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Dalton State's position moves 74 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Dalton State

Dalton State College is a public institution in Dalton, Georgia. Federal data show 70.9% first-year retention and a 20:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $5,012 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $21,075 sticker cost against $5,012 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Dalton State College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$3,336

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$10,656

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,419

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $21,075 a year, but the average family pays $5,012 — a 76% difference. 49.9% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Dalton State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    20:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    70.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    4,553

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Dalton State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $10,656 and on-campus room and board is $10,419, for a published total of $21,075 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $5,012.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Salisbury University

    Salisbury, MDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Salisbury University: U.S. News ranks it #49 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #277 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #292 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #343 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #770 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 6,057 undergraduates, admits 87.5% of applicants, and posts a 68.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,174; aid recipients pay $17,743 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $61,515.

    Acceptance rate
    87.5%
    Average net price
    $17,743
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $61,515
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#49 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#277 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#292 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    6,057 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 40 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of North Carolina at Charlotte

    Charlotte, NCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of North Carolina at Charlotte: U.S. News ranks it #143 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #236 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #191 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #298 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #297 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1170 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 24,453 undergraduates, admits 79.6% of applicants, and posts a 69.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,492; aid recipients pay $15,435 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,289.

    Acceptance rate
    79.6%
    Average net price
    $15,435
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $57,289
    6-yr graduation rate
    69.0%
    US News · National universities#143 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#236 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#191 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    24,453 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 40 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Western Carolina University

    Cullowhee, NCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Western Carolina University: U.S. News ranks it #257 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #190 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #398 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #323 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 10,024 undergraduates, admits 81.8% of applicants, and posts a 60.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,630; aid recipients pay $13,315 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,458.

    Acceptance rate
    81.8%
    Average net price
    $13,315
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,458
    6-yr graduation rate
    60.3%
    US News · National universities#257 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#190 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#398 of 500+2 more on profile

    10,024 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 41 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Dalton State against these