Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

Erskine College

Students comparing Erskine College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Due West, South Carolina766 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 36Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Erskine College: U.S. News ranks it #46 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #958 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 766 undergraduates, admits 62.7% of applicants, and posts a 45.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $36,710; aid recipients pay $16,525 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,459.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
62.7%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$16,525

67% below the $49,960 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,459

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
45.2%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$27,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedErskine College reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Erskine ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#46of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#958of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Erskine's position moves 2 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Erskine

Erskine College is a private nonprofit institution in Due West, South Carolina. Federal data show 55.8% first-year retention and a 15:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,525 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $49,960 sticker cost against $16,525 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Erskine College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$36,710

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
46.8%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$13,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $49,960 a year, but the average family pays $16,525 — a 67% difference. 46.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Erskine's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    15:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    55.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    766

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Erskine: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $36,710 and on-campus room and board is $13,250, for a published total of $49,960 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,525.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 62.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Jarvis Christian University

    Hawkins, TXPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Jarvis Christian University: U.S. News ranks it #39 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Niche ranks it #891 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 577 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 15.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,720; aid recipients pay $9,825 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $32,992.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $9,825
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $32,992
    6-yr graduation rate
    15.2%
    US News · Regional colleges (West)#39 of 104Niche · Overall (Niche)#891 of 2,605

    577 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Columbia International University

    Columbia, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Columbia International University: U.S. News ranks it #29 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1331 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 716 undergraduates, admits 94.5% of applicants, and posts a 46.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,900; aid recipients pay $26,036 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,951.

    Acceptance rate
    94.5%
    Average net price
    $26,036
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $38,951
    6-yr graduation rate
    46.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#29 of 135Niche · Overall (Niche)#1331 of 2,605

    716 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Millsaps College

    Jackson, MSPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Millsaps College: U.S. News ranks it #136 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #429 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #352 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 549 undergraduates, admits 43.1% of applicants, and posts a 57.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $44,680; aid recipients pay $26,034 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,848.

    Acceptance rate
    43.1%
    Average net price
    $26,034
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,848
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.1%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#136 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#429 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#352 of 2,605

    549 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Erskine against these