Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

Florida Polytechnic University

Students comparing Florida Polytechnic University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Lakeland, Florida1,689 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 31Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Florida Polytechnic University: U.S. News ranks it #2 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1589 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,689 undergraduates, admits 57.5% of applicants, and posts a 54.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,005; aid recipients pay $11,853 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
57.5%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$11,853

67% below the $35,487 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedNot reported by Florida Polytechnic University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

6-year graduation rate
54.9%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$14,250

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1170–1340

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Florida Polytechnic ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#2of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1589of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Florida Polytechnic's position moves 59 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Florida Polytechnic

Florida Polytechnic University is a public institution in Lakeland, Florida. Federal data show 74.8% first-year retention and a 17:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $11,853 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $35,487 sticker cost against $11,853 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Florida Polytechnic University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$4,940

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$21,005

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$14,482

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $35,487 a year, but the average family pays $11,853 — a 67% difference. 32.6% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Florida Polytechnic's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    17:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    74.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,689

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Florida Polytechnic: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $21,005 and on-campus room and board is $14,482, for a published total of $35,487 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $11,853.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 57.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of South Carolina Aiken

    Aiken, SCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of South Carolina Aiken: U.S. News ranks it #65 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #357 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,962 undergraduates, admits 78.5% of applicants, and posts a 39.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,218; aid recipients pay $11,641 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,603.

    Acceptance rate
    78.5%
    Average net price
    $11,641
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $45,603
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#65 of 135Niche · Overall (Niche)#357 of 2,605

    2,962 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Virginia Military Institute

    Lexington, VAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Virginia Military Institute: U.S. News ranks it #59 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #306 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #285 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #397 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 1,527 undergraduates, admits 71.3% of applicants, and posts a 76.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $52,638; aid recipients pay $17,113 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $77,369.

    Acceptance rate
    71.3%
    Average net price
    $17,113
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $77,369
    6-yr graduation rate
    76.2%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#59 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#306 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#285 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    1,527 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Delta State University

    Cleveland, MSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Delta State University: U.S. News ranks it #51 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #524 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #659 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 1,620 undergraduates, admits 100.0% of applicants, and posts a 48.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,605; aid recipients pay $13,540 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $41,991.

    Acceptance rate
    100.0%
    Average net price
    $13,540
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $41,991
    6-yr graduation rate
    48.1%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#51 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#524 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#659 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,620 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 33 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Florida Polytechnic against these