Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Grambling State University

Students comparing Grambling State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Grambling, Louisiana4,164 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 65HBCUPublic universityResearch university

The short answer

Grambling State University: U.S. News ranks it #88 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1198 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1291 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 4,164 undergraduates, admits 44.9% of applicants, and posts a 36.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,706; aid recipients pay $19,809 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $41,109.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
44.9%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$19,809

28% below the $27,696 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$41,109

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
36.2%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$36,500

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
920–1080

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Grambling State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#88of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1198of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1291of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Grambling State's position moves 30 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Grambling State

Grambling State University is a public institution in Grambling, Louisiana. Federal data show 66.1% first-year retention and a 25:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $19,809 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $27,696 sticker cost against $19,809 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Grambling State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,683

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$16,706

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,990

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $27,696 a year, but the average family pays $19,809 — a 28% difference. 75.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Grambling State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    25:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    66.1%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    4,164

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Grambling State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $16,706 and on-campus room and board is $10,990, for a published total of $27,696 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $19,809.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 44.9%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Alabama A & M University

    Normal, ALPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Alabama A & M University: U.S. News ranks it #97 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1048 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1107 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 6,124 undergraduates, admits 58.0% of applicants, and posts a 24.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $18,634; aid recipients pay $17,621 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,628.

    Acceptance rate
    58.0%
    Average net price
    $17,621
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $40,628
    6-yr graduation rate
    24.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#97 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1048 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1107 of 2,605

    6,124 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Jackson State University

    Jackson, MSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Jackson State University: U.S. News ranks it #363 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #290 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #496 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #945 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 4,600 undergraduates, admits 93.2% of applicants, and posts a 50.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,965; aid recipients pay $23,836 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $39,060.

    Acceptance rate
    93.2%
    Average net price
    $23,836
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $39,060
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.9%
    US News · National universities#363 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#290 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#496 of 500+1 more on profile

    4,600 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Grambling State against these