Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Henderson State University

Students comparing Henderson State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Arkadelphia, Arkansas1,456 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 57Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Henderson State University: U.S. News ranks it #108 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #597 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1305 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,456 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 37.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $10,620; aid recipients pay $23,405 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $43,459.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Henderson State University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$23,405

-14% below the $20,620 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$43,459

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
37.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$19,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedHenderson State University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Henderson State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#108of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#597of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1305of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Henderson State's position moves 40 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Henderson State

Henderson State University is a public institution in Arkadelphia, Arkansas. Federal data show 61.7% first-year retention and a 17:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $23,405 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $20,620 sticker cost against $23,405 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Henderson State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,244

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$10,620

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,000

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $20,620 a year, but the average family pays $23,405 — a -14% difference. 46.2% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Henderson State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    17:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    61.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,456

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Henderson State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $10,620 and on-campus room and board is $10,000, for a published total of $20,620 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $23,405.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Shepherd University

    Shepherdstown, WVPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Shepherd University: U.S. News ranks it #78 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1055 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1091 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,344 undergraduates, admits 96.8% of applicants, and posts a 51.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,082; aid recipients pay $11,363 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,358.

    Acceptance rate
    96.8%
    Average net price
    $11,363
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,358
    6-yr graduation rate
    51.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#78 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1055 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1091 of 2,605

    2,344 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 57 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    West Liberty University

    West Liberty, WVPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    West Liberty University: U.S. News ranks it #57 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1225 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1303 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 1,511 undergraduates, admits 97.3% of applicants, and posts a 59.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,442; aid recipients pay $15,366 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $43,296.

    Acceptance rate
    97.3%
    Average net price
    $15,366
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $43,296
    6-yr graduation rate
    59.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#57 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1225 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1303 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,511 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 58 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Cameron University

    Lawton, OKPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Cameron University: U.S. News ranks it #96 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #934 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #896 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,492 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 30.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,515; aid recipients pay $10,912 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,118.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $10,912
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $40,118
    6-yr graduation rate
    30.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#96 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#934 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#896 of 2,605

    2,492 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Henderson State against these