Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Hillsdale College

Students comparing Hillsdale College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Hillsdale, Michigan1,573 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 41Private nonprofitSelectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

Hillsdale College: U.S. News ranks it #50 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #1501 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 College Radio Station. It enrolls 1,573 undergraduates, admits 20.7% of applicants, and posts a 89.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $33,189; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
20.7%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
Not reportedHillsdale College does not participate in federal student aid programs, so the Department of Education does not calculate an average net price for it. Compare its published cost of attendance against other schools' net prices with care: they are not the same measure.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedScorecard earnings are derived from federal student aid records, which Hillsdale College students do not appear in. No federal earnings figure exists for this college.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

6-year graduation rate
89.7%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedHillsdale College students cannot borrow federal student loans, because the college does not participate in federal student aid programs. Its reported federal loan debt is therefore zero by construction rather than by outcome.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
1320–1490

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Hillsdale ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Liberal Arts Colleges#50of 210Liberal arts colleges
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1501of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Top 5 College Radio StationListedOverall (Niche)
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Hillsdale's position moves 34 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Hillsdale

Hillsdale College is a private nonprofit institution in Hillsdale, Michigan. Federal data show 96.6% first-year retention and a 8:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price not reported reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $46,789 sticker cost against not reported net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Hillsdale College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$33,189

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
Not reportedThis share is calculated from federal student aid applications, which Hillsdale College does not participate in.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Room & board
$13,600

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $46,789 a year. Hillsdale College does not participate in federal student aid programs, so the Department of Education does not calculate an average net price for it. Compare its published cost of attendance against other schools' net prices with care: they are not the same measure.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Hillsdale's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    8:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    96.6%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,573

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Hillsdale: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $33,189 and on-campus room and board is $13,600, for a published total of $46,789 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is not reported.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 20.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    William Jewell College

    Liberty, MOPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    William Jewell College: U.S. News ranks it #9 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Forbes ranks it #409 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #647 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #737 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 924 undergraduates, admits 38.4% of applicants, and posts a 67.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,610; aid recipients pay $17,562 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $59,268.

    Acceptance rate
    38.4%
    Average net price
    $17,562
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $59,268
    6-yr graduation rate
    67.7%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#9 of 94Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#409 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#647 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    924 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 41 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Oberlin College

    Oberlin, OHPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Oberlin College: U.S. News ranks it #55 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #199 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #691 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #477 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #383 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 10 College Newspaper. It enrolls 2,887 undergraduates, admits 34.2% of applicants, and posts a 80.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $67,366; aid recipients pay $38,645 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $58,343.

    Acceptance rate
    34.2%
    Average net price
    $38,645
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $58,343
    6-yr graduation rate
    80.9%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#55 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#199 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#691 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,887 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Denison University

    Granville, OHPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Denison University: U.S. News ranks it #36 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #315 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #376 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #341 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #175 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 5 Career Services. It enrolls 2,380 undergraduates, admits 17.4% of applicants, and posts a 78.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $67,000; aid recipients pay $40,007 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $67,753.

    Acceptance rate
    17.4%
    Average net price
    $40,007
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $67,753
    6-yr graduation rate
    78.9%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#36 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#315 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#376 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,380 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Hillsdale against these