Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Idaho State University

Students comparing Idaho State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Pocatello, Idaho7,583 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 33Public universityResearch universityWashington Monthly ranked

The short answer

Idaho State University: Washington Monthly ranks it #585 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #706 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 7,583 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 39.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,720; aid recipients pay $12,193 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,608.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Idaho State University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$12,193

66% below the $35,602 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$45,608

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
39.4%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$20,039

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedIdaho State University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Idaho State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#585of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#706of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Idaho State's position moves 12 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a moderate spread; the ranking you look at changes the answer somewhat. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Idaho State

Idaho State University is a public institution in Pocatello, Idaho. Federal data show 72.0% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $12,193 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $35,602 sticker cost against $12,193 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Idaho State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,610

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$27,720

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$7,882

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $35,602 a year, but the average family pays $12,193 — a 66% difference. 27.9% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Idaho State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    72.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    7,583

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Idaho State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $27,720 and on-campus room and board is $7,882, for a published total of $35,602 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $12,193.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Oregon State University

    Corvallis, ORPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Oregon State University: U.S. News ranks it #143 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #122 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #469 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #300 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #146 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #626 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 30,743 undergraduates, admits 77.3% of applicants, and posts a 70.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $38,190; aid recipients pay $19,604 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,010.

    Acceptance rate
    77.3%
    Average net price
    $19,604
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $64,010
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.1%
    US News · National universities#143 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#122 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#469 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    30,743 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 33 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Colorado State University-Fort Collins

    Fort Collins, COPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Colorado State University-Fort Collins: U.S. News ranks it #151 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #243 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #197 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #290 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #252 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #25 Best Quality of Life; QS ranks it #458 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 25,538 undergraduates, admits 88.5% of applicants, and posts a 66.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $34,783; aid recipients pay $21,279 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,543.

    Acceptance rate
    88.5%
    Average net price
    $21,279
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,543
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.5%
    US News · National universities#151 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#243 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#197 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    25,538 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 32 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    California State University-Bakersfield

    Bakersfield, CAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    California State University-Bakersfield: U.S. News ranks it #30 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Forbes ranks it #388 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #71 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #479 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 8,577 undergraduates, admits 93.8% of applicants, and posts a 49.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,690; aid recipients pay $5,652 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $59,009.

    Acceptance rate
    93.8%
    Average net price
    $5,652
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $59,009
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#30 of 118Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#388 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#71 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    8,577 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 32 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Idaho State against these