Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Lane College

Students comparing Lane College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Jackson, Tennessee736 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 55HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Lane College: Washington Monthly ranks it #803 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1492 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 736 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 18.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,790; aid recipients pay $10,904 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,670.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Lane College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$10,904

44% below the $19,400 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$31,670

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
18.4%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$30,500

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedLane College did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Lane ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#803of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1492of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Lane's position moves 4 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Lane

Lane College is a private nonprofit institution in Jackson, Tennessee. Federal data show 44.3% first-year retention and a 17:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $10,904 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $19,400 sticker cost against $10,904 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Lane College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$11,790

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
78.6%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$7,610

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $19,400 a year, but the average family pays $10,904 — a 44% difference. 78.6% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Lane's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    17:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    44.3%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    736

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Lane: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $11,790 and on-campus room and board is $7,610, for a published total of $19,400 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $10,904.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Morris College

    Sumter, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Morris College: U.S. News ranks it #83 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #535 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1706 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 383 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 17.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,664; aid recipients pay $20,555 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $30,614.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $20,555
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $30,614
    6-yr graduation rate
    17.3%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#83 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#535 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1706 of 2,605

    383 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 55 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Xavier University of Louisiana

    New Orleans, LAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Xavier University of Louisiana: U.S. News ranks it #208 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #887 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #405 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #785 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,628 undergraduates, admits 69.0% of applicants, and posts a 48.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,733; aid recipients pay $17,127 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,184.

    Acceptance rate
    69.0%
    Average net price
    $17,127
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,184
    6-yr graduation rate
    48.5%
    US News · National universities#208 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#887 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#405 of 500+2 more on profile

    2,628 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Stillman College

    Tuscaloosa, ALPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Stillman College: U.S. News ranks it #87 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #662 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1333 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 706 undergraduates, admits 62.3% of applicants, and posts a 25.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $12,126; aid recipients pay $15,258 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $35,421.

    Acceptance rate
    62.3%
    Average net price
    $15,258
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $35,421
    6-yr graduation rate
    25.0%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#87 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#662 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1333 of 2,605

    706 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Lane against these