Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Mercy University

Students comparing Mercy University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Dobbs Ferry, New York5,735 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 53Private nonprofitResearch universityU.S. News ranked

The short answer

Mercy University: U.S. News ranks it #115 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #989 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 5,735 undergraduates, admits 85.8% of applicants, and posts a 45.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,880; aid recipients pay $14,072 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,055.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
85.8%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$14,072

63% below the $38,130 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,055

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
45.7%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$19,637

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedMercy University reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Mercy University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (North)#115of 170Regional univ. (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#989of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges3 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Mercy University's position moves 30 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Mercy University

Mercy University is a private nonprofit institution in Dobbs Ferry, New York. Federal data show 75.7% first-year retention and a 15:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $14,072 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $38,130 sticker cost against $14,072 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Mercy University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$22,880

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
50.0%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$15,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $38,130 a year, but the average family pays $14,072 — a 63% difference. 50.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Mercy University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    15:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    75.7%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    5,735

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Mercy University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $22,880 and on-campus room and board is $15,250, for a published total of $38,130 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $14,072.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 85.8%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Felician University

    Lodi, NJPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Felician University: U.S. News ranks it #115 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #674 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1170 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 1,774 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 47.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $39,300; aid recipients pay $40,045 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,602.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $40,045
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $57,602
    6-yr graduation rate
    47.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#115 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#674 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1170 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,774 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 52 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Quinnipiac University

    Hamden, CTPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Quinnipiac University: U.S. News ranks it #179 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #394 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1266 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #91 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #982 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #22 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 6,531 undergraduates, admits 72.2% of applicants, and posts a 75.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $55,480; aid recipients pay $40,675 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $83,759.

    Acceptance rate
    72.2%
    Average net price
    $40,675
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $83,759
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.7%
    US News · National universities#179 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#394 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1266 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    6,531 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 52 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Nazareth University

    Rochester, NYPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Nazareth University: U.S. News ranks it #44 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); WSJ ranks it #478 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #897 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #19 Best Student Support and Counseling Services. It enrolls 1,873 undergraduates, admits 74.7% of applicants, and posts a 72.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $42,450; aid recipients pay $29,357 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,458.

    Acceptance rate
    74.7%
    Average net price
    $29,357
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,458
    6-yr graduation rate
    72.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#44 of 170WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#478 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#897 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    1,873 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 52 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Mercy University against these