Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Students comparing Metropolitan State University of Denver on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Denver, Colorado15,002 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 66Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

Metropolitan State University of Denver: U.S. News ranks it #102 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); WSJ ranks it #423 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #690 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 15,002 undergraduates, admits 98.8% of applicants, and posts a 31.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $30,684; aid recipients pay $15,327 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,093.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
98.8%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$15,327

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,093

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
31.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
880–1130

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Metropolitan State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (West)#102of 118Regional univ. (West)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#423of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#690of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Metropolitan State's position moves 60 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Metropolitan State

Metropolitan State University of Denver is a public institution in Denver, Colorado. Federal data show 62.9% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,327 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $15,327 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Metropolitan State University of Denver on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$11,124

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$30,684

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Metropolitan State University of Denver in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Metropolitan State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    62.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    15,002

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Metropolitan State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $30,684 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,327.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 98.8%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Boise State University

    Boise, IDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Boise State University: U.S. News ranks it #301 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #483 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #749 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #480 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #463 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 17,674 undergraduates, admits 87.2% of applicants, and posts a 60.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,788; aid recipients pay $21,610 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,658.

    Acceptance rate
    87.2%
    Average net price
    $21,610
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,658
    6-yr graduation rate
    60.2%
    US News · National universities#301 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#483 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#749 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    17,674 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Alaska Anchorage

    Anchorage, AKPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Alaska Anchorage: U.S. News ranks it #78 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1135 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #474 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1021 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 7,212 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 29.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,322; aid recipients pay $15,301 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,871.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $15,301
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,871
    6-yr graduation rate
    29.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#78 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1135 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#474 of 500+1 more on profile

    7,212 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 69 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Louisiana at Lafayette

    Lafayette, LAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Louisiana at Lafayette: U.S. News ranks it #373 on National Universities (2026); WSJ ranks it #465 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #445 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 12,428 undergraduates, admits 87.0% of applicants, and posts a 52.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,146; aid recipients pay $13,530 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $47,089.

    Acceptance rate
    87.0%
    Average net price
    $13,530
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $47,089
    6-yr graduation rate
    52.6%
    US News · National universities#373 of 436WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#465 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#445 of 2,605

    12,428 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 65 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Metropolitan State against these