Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Miles College

Students comparing Miles College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Fairfield, Alabama1,155 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 69HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Miles College: U.S. News ranks it #83 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1334 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1468 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,155 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 15.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,314; aid recipients pay $14,271 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $32,627.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Miles College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$14,271

31% below the $20,662 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$32,627

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
15.8%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$31,217

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedMiles College did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Miles ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#83of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1334of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1468of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Miles's position moves 32 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Miles

Miles College is a private nonprofit institution in Fairfield, Alabama. Federal data show 56.3% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $14,271 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $20,662 sticker cost against $14,271 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Miles College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$13,314

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
71.9%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$7,348

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $20,662 a year, but the average family pays $14,271 — a 31% difference. 71.9% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Miles's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    56.3%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,155

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Miles: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $13,314 and on-campus room and board is $7,348, for a published total of $20,662 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $14,271.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Clark Atlanta University

    Atlanta, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Clark Atlanta University: U.S. News ranks it #329 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #992 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #489 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1353 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 3,603 undergraduates, admits 64.2% of applicants, and posts a 49.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,310; aid recipients pay $37,702 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,712.

    Acceptance rate
    64.2%
    Average net price
    $37,702
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,712
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.0%
    US News · National universities#329 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#992 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#489 of 500+2 more on profile

    3,603 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 73 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Benedict College

    Columbia, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Benedict College: U.S. News ranks it #80 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1256 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1384 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,536 undergraduates, admits 95.7% of applicants, and posts a 24.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,440; aid recipients pay $18,250 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,902.

    Acceptance rate
    95.7%
    Average net price
    $18,250
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $31,902
    6-yr graduation rate
    24.3%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#80 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1256 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1384 of 2,605

    1,536 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Florida Memorial University

    Miami Gardens, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Florida Memorial University: U.S. News ranks it #65 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1341 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1478 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,183 undergraduates, admits 85.3% of applicants, and posts a 31.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,174; aid recipients pay $23,238 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $36,624.

    Acceptance rate
    85.3%
    Average net price
    $23,238
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $36,624
    6-yr graduation rate
    31.1%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#65 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1341 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1478 of 2,605

    1,183 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 65 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Miles against these