Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Montana State University Billings

Students comparing Montana State University Billings on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Billings, Montana2,626 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 44Public universitySmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

Montana State University Billings: Niche ranks it #1155 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,626 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 30.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,897; aid recipients pay $16,524 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,296.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Montana State University Billings in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$16,524

50% below the $32,877 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,296

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
30.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$18,209

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedMontana State University Billings did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Montana State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1155of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Montana State

Montana State University Billings is a public institution in Billings, Montana. Federal data show 55.6% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,524 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $32,877 sticker cost against $16,524 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Montana State University Billings on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,280

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$22,897

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,980

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $32,877 a year, but the average family pays $16,524 — a 50% difference. 25.4% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Montana State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    55.6%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,626

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Montana State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $22,897 and on-campus room and board is $9,980, for a published total of $32,877 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,524.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Worcester State University

    Worcester, MAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Worcester State University: U.S. News ranks it #97 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #565 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #964 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 3,930 undergraduates, admits 88.0% of applicants, and posts a 61.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,866; aid recipients pay $13,381 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,624.

    Acceptance rate
    88.0%
    Average net price
    $13,381
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,624
    6-yr graduation rate
    61.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#97 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#565 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#964 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    3,930 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

    Syracuse, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry: U.S. News ranks it #158 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #432 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #318 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #2 Green Matters: Everyone Cares About Conservation. It enrolls 1,839 undergraduates, admits 63.3% of applicants, and posts a 66.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,263; aid recipients pay $18,952 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,763.

    Acceptance rate
    63.3%
    Average net price
    $18,952
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,763
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.3%
    US News · National universities#158 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#432 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#318 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    1,839 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 45 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Puerto Rico at Ponce

    Ponce, PRPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Puerto Rico at Ponce: U.S. News ranks it #30 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1792 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,278 undergraduates, admits 52.4% of applicants, and posts a 46.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,354; aid recipients pay $10,990 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,394.

    Acceptance rate
    52.4%
    Average net price
    $10,990
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $31,394
    6-yr graduation rate
    46.2%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#30 of 131Niche · Overall (Niche)#1792 of 2,605

    2,278 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Montana State against these