Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Nelson University

Students comparing Nelson University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Waxahachie, Texas1,479 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 27Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Nelson University: Niche ranks it #701 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,479 undergraduates, admits 89.0% of applicants, and posts a 41.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $25,064; aid recipients pay $21,662 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,238.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
89.0%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$21,662

38% below the $34,662 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,238

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
41.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$24,725

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
890–1090

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Nelson University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#701of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Nelson University

Nelson University is a private nonprofit institution in Waxahachie, Texas. Federal data show 75.2% first-year retention and a 15:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $21,662 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $34,662 sticker cost against $21,662 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Nelson University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$25,064

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
47.8%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,598

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $34,662 a year, but the average family pays $21,662 — a 38% difference. 47.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Nelson University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    15:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    75.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,479

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Nelson University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $25,064 and on-campus room and board is $9,598, for a published total of $34,662 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $21,662.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 89.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Gallaudet University

    Washington, DCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Gallaudet University: U.S. News ranks it #198 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #433 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #170 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 812 undergraduates, admits 58.1% of applicants, and posts a 47.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,654; aid recipients pay $15,845 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $43,101.

    Acceptance rate
    58.1%
    Average net price
    $15,845
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $43,101
    6-yr graduation rate
    47.3%
    US News · National universities#198 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#433 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#170 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    812 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 27 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Our Lady of the Lake University

    San Antonio, TXPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Our Lady of the Lake University: Niche ranks it #702 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,066 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 46.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $32,106; aid recipients pay $16,442 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,675.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $16,442
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $48,675
    6-yr graduation rate
    46.1%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#702 of 2,605

    1,066 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 27 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Furman University

    Greenville, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Furman University: U.S. News ranks it #45 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #211 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #224 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #271 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #138 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,379 undergraduates, admits 43.0% of applicants, and posts a 78.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $59,770; aid recipients pay $30,308 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $68,635.

    Acceptance rate
    43.0%
    Average net price
    $30,308
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $68,635
    6-yr graduation rate
    78.8%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#45 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#211 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#224 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,379 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 28 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Nelson University against these