Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Paine College

Students comparing Paine College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Augusta, Georgia388 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 80HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Paine College: Washington Monthly ranks it #1428 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1681 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 388 undergraduates, admits 95.4% of applicants, and posts a 14.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,596; aid recipients pay $16,670 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $33,338.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
95.4%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$16,670

25% below the $22,108 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$33,338

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
14.4%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by Paine College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedPaine College reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Paine ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1428of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1681of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Paine's position moves 30 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Paine

Paine College is a private nonprofit institution in Augusta, Georgia. Federal data show 53.6% first-year retention and a 11:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $16,670 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $22,108 sticker cost against $16,670 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Paine College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$14,596

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
75.6%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$7,512

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $22,108 a year, but the average family pays $16,670 — a 25% difference. 75.6% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Paine's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    11:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    53.6%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    388

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Paine: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $14,596 and on-campus room and board is $7,512, for a published total of $22,108 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $16,670.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 95.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Arkansas Baptist College

    Little Rock, ARPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Arkansas Baptist College: Washington Monthly ranks it #1377 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1715 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 342 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 7.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,760; aid recipients pay $10,627 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $28,418.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $10,627
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $28,418
    6-yr graduation rate
    7.4%
    Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1377 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1715 of 2,605

    342 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 79 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Oakwood University

    Huntsville, ALPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Oakwood University: U.S. News ranks it #182 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1407 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1276 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 1,153 undergraduates, admits 45.2% of applicants, and posts a 44.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,512; aid recipients pay $25,669 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,488.

    Acceptance rate
    45.2%
    Average net price
    $25,669
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,488
    6-yr graduation rate
    44.6%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#182 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1407 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1276 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,153 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 76 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Allen University

    Columbia, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Allen University: Washington Monthly ranks it #1411 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1391 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 576 undergraduates, admits 72.5% of applicants, and posts a 13.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,304; aid recipients pay $10,972 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $30,497.

    Acceptance rate
    72.5%
    Average net price
    $10,972
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $30,497
    6-yr graduation rate
    13.3%
    Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1411 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1391 of 2,605

    576 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 74 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Paine against these