Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

United States Merchant Marine Academy

Students comparing United States Merchant Marine Academy on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Kings Point, New York962 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 4Public universitySelectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

United States Merchant Marine Academy: U.S. News ranks it #3 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #99 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 962 undergraduates, admits 34.2% of applicants, and posts a 82.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $895; aid recipients pay $6,174 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $90,610.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
34.2%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$6,174

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$90,610

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
82.4%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$8,833

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1110–1300

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where United States ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (North)#3of 68Regional colleges (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)A#99of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: United States's position moves 1 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About United States

United States Merchant Marine Academy is a public institution in Kings Point, New York. Federal data show 84.5% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $6,174 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $6,174 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing United States Merchant Marine Academy on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$895

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$895

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by United States Merchant Marine Academy in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run United States's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    84.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    962

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    United States: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $895 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $6,174.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 34.2%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Citadel Military College of South Carolina

    Charleston, SCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Citadel Military College of South Carolina: U.S. News ranks it #1 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #217 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #194 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 2,705 undergraduates, admits 22.7% of applicants, and posts a 75.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $38,508; aid recipients pay $20,723 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $72,085.

    Acceptance rate
    22.7%
    Average net price
    $20,723
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $72,085
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#1 of 135Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#217 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#194 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    2,705 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 17 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    United States Coast Guard Academy

    New London, CTPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    United States Coast Guard Academy: U.S. News ranks it #1 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #1510 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,108 undergraduates, admits 22.4% of applicants, and posts a 92.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is not reported; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

    Acceptance rate
    22.4%
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    Not reported
    6-yr graduation rate
    92.7%
    US News · Regional colleges (North)#1 of 68Niche · Overall (Niche)#1510 of 2,605Princeton Review · Overall (Niche)Listed (no rank given)

    1,108 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 30 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of California, San Diego

    La Jolla, CAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of California, San Diego: U.S. News ranks it #29 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #20 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #109 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #30 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #45 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 34,948 undergraduates, admits 26.7% of applicants, and posts a 86.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $50,958; aid recipients pay $12,470 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $84,943.

    Acceptance rate
    26.7%
    Average net price
    $12,470
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $84,943
    6-yr graduation rate
    86.1%
    US News · National universities#29 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#20 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#109 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    34,948 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 5 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare United States against these