Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Hawaii-West Oahu

Students comparing University of Hawaii-West Oahu on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Kapolei, Hawaii2,519 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 27Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of Hawaii-West Oahu: U.S. News ranks it #10 on Regional Colleges (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #921 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #286 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 2,519 undergraduates, admits 95.3% of applicants, and posts a 49.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,544; aid recipients pay $10,327 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,075.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
95.3%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$10,327

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$52,075

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
49.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$14,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
931–1103

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Hawaii-West Oahu ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (West)#10of 104Regional colleges (West)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#921of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B+#286of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges3.5 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Hawaii-West Oahu's position moves 52 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Hawaii-West Oahu

University of Hawaii-West Oahu is a public institution in Kapolei, Hawaii. Federal data show 78.0% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $10,327 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $10,327 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Hawaii-West Oahu on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,584

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$20,544

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Hawaii-West Oahu in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Hawaii-West Oahu's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    78.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,519

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Hawaii-West Oahu: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $20,544 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $10,327.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 95.3%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of Minnesota-Crookston

    Crookston, MNPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Minnesota-Crookston: U.S. News ranks it #27 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #711 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #197 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 1,729 undergraduates, admits 87.9% of applicants, and posts a 49.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,288; aid recipients pay $12,212 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $58,056.

    Acceptance rate
    87.9%
    Average net price
    $12,212
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $58,056
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.8%
    US News · Regional colleges (Midwest)#27 of 94Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#711 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#197 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,729 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 28 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Truman State University

    Kirksville, MOPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Truman State University: U.S. News ranks it #5 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Forbes ranks it #257 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #590 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #740 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,513 undergraduates, admits 83.8% of applicants, and posts a 68.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $18,566; aid recipients pay $12,780 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,280.

    Acceptance rate
    83.8%
    Average net price
    $12,780
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,280
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#5 of 165Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#257 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#590 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    2,513 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Virginia Military Institute

    Lexington, VAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Virginia Military Institute: U.S. News ranks it #59 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #306 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #285 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #397 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 1,527 undergraduates, admits 71.3% of applicants, and posts a 76.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $52,638; aid recipients pay $17,113 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $77,369.

    Acceptance rate
    71.3%
    Average net price
    $17,113
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $77,369
    6-yr graduation rate
    76.2%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#59 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#306 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#285 of 1,504+2 more on profile

    1,527 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 31 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Hawaii-West Oahu against these