Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Holy Cross

Students comparing University of Holy Cross on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

New Orleans, Louisiana471 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 77Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

University of Holy Cross: U.S. News ranks it #101 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1465 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1547 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 471 undergraduates, admits 73.7% of applicants, and posts a 48.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,576; aid recipients pay $15,635 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,316.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
73.7%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$15,635

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,316

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
48.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$26,995

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Holy Cross reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Holy Cross ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#101of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1465of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1547of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Holy Cross's position moves 38 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Holy Cross

University of Holy Cross is a private nonprofit institution in New Orleans, Louisiana. Federal data show 71.0% first-year retention and a 6:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,635 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $15,635 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Holy Cross on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$16,576

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
27.5%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Holy Cross in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Holy Cross's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    6:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    71.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    471

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Holy Cross: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $16,576 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,635.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 73.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Dallas Baptist University

    Dallas, TXPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Dallas Baptist University: U.S. News ranks it #384 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1432 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1231 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,403 undergraduates, admits 88.8% of applicants, and posts a 57.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $40,190; aid recipients pay $28,516 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,807.

    Acceptance rate
    88.8%
    Average net price
    $28,516
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $56,807
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.0%
    US News · National universities#384 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1432 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1231 of 2,605

    2,403 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 77 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Oakwood University

    Huntsville, ALPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Oakwood University: U.S. News ranks it #182 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1407 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1276 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 1,153 undergraduates, admits 45.2% of applicants, and posts a 44.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,512; aid recipients pay $25,669 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,488.

    Acceptance rate
    45.2%
    Average net price
    $25,669
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,488
    6-yr graduation rate
    44.6%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#182 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1407 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1276 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,153 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 76 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Clark Atlanta University

    Atlanta, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Clark Atlanta University: U.S. News ranks it #329 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #992 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #489 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1353 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 3,603 undergraduates, admits 64.2% of applicants, and posts a 49.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,310; aid recipients pay $37,702 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,712.

    Acceptance rate
    64.2%
    Average net price
    $37,702
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,712
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.0%
    US News · National universities#329 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#992 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#489 of 500+2 more on profile

    3,603 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 73 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Holy Cross against these