Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Louisiana at Monroe

Students comparing University of Louisiana at Monroe on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Monroe, Louisiana5,022 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 62Public universityResearch universityU.S. News ranked

The short answer

University of Louisiana at Monroe: U.S. News ranks it #358 on National Universities (2026); WSJ ranks it #424 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #497 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 5,022 undergraduates, admits 84.8% of applicants, and posts a 54.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,290; aid recipients pay $13,466 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,769.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
84.8%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$13,466

58% below the $31,844 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$46,769

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
54.2%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1160–1360

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Louisiana at Monroe ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Universities#358of 436National universities
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#424of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#497of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Louisiana at Monroe's position moves 66 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Louisiana at Monroe

University of Louisiana at Monroe is a public institution in Monroe, Louisiana. Federal data show 72.8% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $13,466 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $31,844 sticker cost against $13,466 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Louisiana at Monroe on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$9,190

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$21,290

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,554

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $31,844 a year, but the average family pays $13,466 — a 58% difference. 34.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Louisiana at Monroe's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    72.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    5,022

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Louisiana at Monroe: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $21,290 and on-campus room and board is $10,554, for a published total of $31,844 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $13,466.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 84.8%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Western Kentucky University

    Bowling Green, KYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Western Kentucky University: U.S. News ranks it #363 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #486 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #482 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #886 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 12,155 undergraduates, admits 93.9% of applicants, and posts a 55.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,000; aid recipients pay $10,990 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $43,889.

    Acceptance rate
    93.9%
    Average net price
    $10,990
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $43,889
    6-yr graduation rate
    55.6%
    US News · National universities#363 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#486 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#482 of 500+1 more on profile

    12,155 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Middle Tennessee State University

    Murfreesboro, TNPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Middle Tennessee State University: U.S. News ranks it #257 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #467 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #425 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #529 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 16,301 undergraduates, admits 69.1% of applicants, and posts a 53.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,574; aid recipients pay $13,359 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,541.

    Acceptance rate
    69.1%
    Average net price
    $13,359
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $48,541
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.7%
    US News · National universities#257 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#467 of 500WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#425 of 500+3 more on profile

    16,301 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Louisiana at Monroe against these