Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Maryland Baltimore

Students comparing University of Maryland Baltimore on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Baltimore, Maryland958 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 63Public universitySmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

University of Maryland Baltimore: Niche ranks it #1837 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #843 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 958 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a not reported six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is not reported; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $88,174.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$88,174

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median debt at graduation
$15,000

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Maryland Baltimore did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Maryland Baltimore ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1837of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University Rankings#843of 1,504World (QS)

Methodology sensitivity: Maryland Baltimore's position moves 14 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a moderate spread; the ranking you look at changes the answer somewhat. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Maryland Baltimore

University of Maryland Baltimore is a public institution in Baltimore, Maryland. Federal data show not reported first-year retention and a 5:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price not reported reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against not reported net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Maryland Baltimore on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Out-of-state tuition & fees
Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year. Not reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Maryland Baltimore's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    5:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    Not reportedNot reported by University of Maryland Baltimore in the most recent federal collection.

    U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

    Undergraduate enrollment
    958

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Maryland Baltimore: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is not reported and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is not reported.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of South Alabama

    Mobile, ALPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of South Alabama: U.S. News ranks it #363 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #922 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #212 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1389 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 8,879 undergraduates, admits 71.0% of applicants, and posts a 52.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,092; aid recipients pay $17,648 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,379.

    Acceptance rate
    71.0%
    Average net price
    $17,648
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $49,379
    6-yr graduation rate
    52.7%
    US News · National universities#363 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#922 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#212 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    8,879 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 61 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    New Jersey City University

    Jersey City, NJPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    New Jersey City University: U.S. News ranks it #147 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Niche ranks it #1093 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,681 undergraduates, admits 98.4% of applicants, and posts a 33.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,460; aid recipients pay $16,053 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,745.

    Acceptance rate
    98.4%
    Average net price
    $16,053
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,745
    6-yr graduation rate
    33.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#147 of 170Niche · Overall (Niche)#1093 of 2,605

    3,681 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Maryland Baltimore against these