Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Michigan-Dearborn

Students comparing University of Michigan-Dearborn on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Dearborn, Michigan5,952 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 34Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

University of Michigan-Dearborn: U.S. News ranks it #16 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Forbes ranks it #291 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #291 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #285 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 5,952 undergraduates, admits 55.6% of applicants, and posts a 58.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $32,896; aid recipients pay $9,492 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $59,649.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
55.6%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$9,492

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$59,649

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
58.0%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$22,500

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
990–1255

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Michigan-Dearborn ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (Midwest)#16of 165Regional univ. (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top Colleges#291of 500Top colleges (Forbes)
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#291of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B+#285of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges4 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Michigan-Dearborn's position moves 49 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Michigan-Dearborn

University of Michigan-Dearborn is a public institution in Dearborn, Michigan. Federal data show 82.5% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $9,492 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $9,492 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Michigan-Dearborn on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$15,640

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$32,896

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Michigan-Dearborn in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Michigan-Dearborn's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    82.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    5,952

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Michigan-Dearborn: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $32,896 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $9,492.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 55.6%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Wayne State University

    Detroit, MIPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Wayne State University: U.S. News ranks it #179 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #264 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #98 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #383 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #108 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; QS ranks it #798 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 15,587 undergraduates, admits 81.2% of applicants, and posts a 58.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $32,037; aid recipients pay $12,766 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,493.

    Acceptance rate
    81.2%
    Average net price
    $12,766
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,493
    6-yr graduation rate
    58.4%
    US News · National universities#179 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#264 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#98 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    15,587 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 39 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Texas Tech University

    Lubbock, TXPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Texas Tech University: U.S. News ranks it #198 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #161 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #438 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #229 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #103 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; QS ranks it #740 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 32,394 undergraduates, admits 72.7% of applicants, and posts a 68.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,451; aid recipients pay $19,070 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $62,454.

    Acceptance rate
    72.7%
    Average net price
    $19,070
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $62,454
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.7%
    US News · National universities#198 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#161 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#438 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    32,394 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 34 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Texas at Dallas

    Richardson, TXPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Texas at Dallas: U.S. News ranks it #110 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #141 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #582 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #319 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #219 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #604 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 21,751 undergraduates, admits 65.1% of applicants, and posts a 75.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $40,144; aid recipients pay $18,267 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $68,227.

    Acceptance rate
    65.1%
    Average net price
    $18,267
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $68,227
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.7%
    US News · National universities#110 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#141 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#582 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    21,751 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 34 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Michigan-Dearborn against these