Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Puerto Rico

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Bayamon, PR2,851 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 67Public universitySelectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

University of Puerto Rico: U.S. News ranks it #293 on National Universities (2026). It enrolls 2,851 undergraduates, admits 35.3% of applicants, and posts a 37.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $6,284; aid recipients pay $8,484 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,409.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
35.3%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$8,484

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$34,409

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
37.1%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$5,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Puerto Rico reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Puerto Rico ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Universities#293of 436National universities
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Puerto Rico

University of Puerto Rico is a public institution in Bayamon, PR. Federal data show 77.8% first-year retention and a 21:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $8,484 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $8,484 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$6,284

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$6,284

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Puerto Rico in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Puerto Rico's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    21:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    77.8%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,851

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Puerto Rico: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $6,284 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $8,484.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 35.3%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Citadel Military College of South Carolina

    Charleston, SCPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Citadel Military College of South Carolina: U.S. News ranks it #1 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #217 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #194 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 2,705 undergraduates, admits 22.7% of applicants, and posts a 75.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $38,508; aid recipients pay $20,723 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $72,085.

    Acceptance rate
    22.7%
    Average net price
    $20,723
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $72,085
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#1 of 135Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#217 of 500Niche · Overall (Niche)#194 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    2,705 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 17 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon

    Bayamon, PRPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon: U.S. News ranks it #83 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1779 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,476 undergraduates, admits 39.6% of applicants, and posts a 34.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,780; aid recipients pay $9,284 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $29,936.

    Acceptance rate
    39.6%
    Average net price
    $9,284
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $29,936
    6-yr graduation rate
    34.9%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#83 of 131Niche · Overall (Niche)#1779 of 2,605

    3,476 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Puerto Rico against these