Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Arecibo, PR2,669 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 47Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo: U.S. News ranks it #34 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1780 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,669 undergraduates, admits 59.2% of applicants, and posts a 52.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,354; aid recipients pay $10,680 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $30,512.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
59.2%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$10,680

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$30,512

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
52.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$4,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of Puerto Rico-Arecibo reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Puerto Rico-Arecibo ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#34of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1780of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Puerto Rico-Arecibo's position moves 42 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Puerto Rico-Arecibo

University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo is a public institution in Arecibo, PR. Federal data show 76.1% first-year retention and a 18:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $10,680 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $10,680 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$5,354

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$5,354

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by University of Puerto Rico-Arecibo in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Puerto Rico-Arecibo's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    18:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    76.1%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,669

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Puerto Rico-Arecibo: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $5,354 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $10,680.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 59.2%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    University of West Alabama

    Livingston, ALPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of West Alabama: U.S. News ranks it #82 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #157 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #490 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #500 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,974 undergraduates, admits 42.6% of applicants, and posts a 34.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,090; aid recipients pay $12,684 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,232.

    Acceptance rate
    42.6%
    Average net price
    $12,684
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $44,232
    6-yr graduation rate
    34.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#82 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#157 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#490 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,974 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 47 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Alcorn State University

    Alcorn State, MSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Alcorn State University: U.S. News ranks it #51 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #680 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #497 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #181 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 2,363 undergraduates, admits 45.3% of applicants, and posts a 57.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,785; aid recipients pay $13,265 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $36,421.

    Acceptance rate
    45.3%
    Average net price
    $13,265
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $36,421
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.4%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#51 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#680 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#497 of 500+2 more on profile

    2,363 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 47 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Mary Washington

    Fredericksburg, VAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Mary Washington: U.S. News ranks it #132 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #316 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #500 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #725 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #12 Best College Theater. It enrolls 3,566 undergraduates, admits 79.8% of applicants, and posts a 66.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,560; aid recipients pay $20,667 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,613.

    Acceptance rate
    79.8%
    Average net price
    $20,667
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,613
    6-yr graduation rate
    66.4%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#132 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#316 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#500 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    3,566 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 47 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Puerto Rico-Arecibo against these