Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Tennessee Southern

Students comparing University of Tennessee Southern on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Pulaski, Tennessee864 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 37Public universitySmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of Tennessee Southern: U.S. News ranks it #41 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1092 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 864 undergraduates, admits 86.7% of applicants, and posts a 36.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $10,924; aid recipients pay $12,798 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,924.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
86.7%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$12,798

33% below the $19,224 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$38,924

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
36.9%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,500

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
905–1110

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Tennessee Southern ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#41of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1092of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Tennessee Southern's position moves 11 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a moderate spread; the ranking you look at changes the answer somewhat. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Tennessee Southern

University of Tennessee Southern is a public institution in Pulaski, Tennessee. Federal data show 77.2% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $12,798 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $19,224 sticker cost against $12,798 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Tennessee Southern on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$10,924

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$10,924

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$8,300

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $19,224 a year, but the average family pays $12,798 — a 33% difference. 36.3% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Tennessee Southern's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    77.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    864

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Tennessee Southern: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $10,924 and on-campus room and board is $8,300, for a published total of $19,224 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $12,798.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 86.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Southwestern Oklahoma State University

    Weatherford, OKPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Southwestern Oklahoma State University: U.S. News ranks it #64 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Niche ranks it #478 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,514 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 39.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $8,499; aid recipients pay $14,459 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,744.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $14,459
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $45,744
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#64 of 118Niche · Overall (Niche)#478 of 2,605

    3,514 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Longwood University

    Farmville, VAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Longwood University: U.S. News ranks it #15 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1038 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #821 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 3,015 undergraduates, admits 90.2% of applicants, and posts a 61.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,978; aid recipients pay $19,066 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,347.

    Acceptance rate
    90.2%
    Average net price
    $19,066
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,347
    6-yr graduation rate
    61.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#15 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1038 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#821 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    3,015 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 37 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Kentucky State University

    Frankfort, KYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Kentucky State University: U.S. News ranks it #41 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #764 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #654 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,309 undergraduates, admits 96.1% of applicants, and posts a 31.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,658; aid recipients pay $8,040 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $36,382.

    Acceptance rate
    96.1%
    Average net price
    $8,040
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $36,382
    6-yr graduation rate
    31.9%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#41 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#764 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#654 of 2,605

    1,309 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Tennessee Southern against these