Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of the West

Students comparing University of the West on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Rosemead, California32 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 83Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of the West: Niche ranks it #2174 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 32 undergraduates, admits 100.0% of applicants, and posts a 37.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,446; aid recipients pay $6,845 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
100.0%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$6,845

77% below the $29,690 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedNot reported by University of the West in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

6-year graduation rate
37.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by University of the West in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedUniversity of the West reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where the West ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#2174of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About the West

University of the West is a private nonprofit institution in Rosemead, California. Federal data show 50.0% first-year retention and a 5:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $6,845 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $29,690 sticker cost against $6,845 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of the West on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$15,446

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
28.3%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$14,244

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $29,690 a year, but the average family pays $6,845 — a 77% difference. 28.3% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run the West's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    5:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    50.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    32

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    the West: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $15,446 and on-campus room and board is $14,244, for a published total of $29,690 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $6,845.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 100.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Pacific States University

    Los Angeles, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Pacific States University: Niche ranks it #2167 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 44 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 100.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $10,159; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    Not reported
    6-yr graduation rate
    100.0%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#2167 of 2,605

    44 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 83 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    National University of Natural Medicine

    Portland, ORPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    National University of Natural Medicine: Niche ranks it #2166 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 41 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a not reported six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is not reported; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    Not reported
    6-yr graduation rate
    Not reported
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#2166 of 2,605

    41 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 83 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Grace Mission University

    Fullerton, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Grace Mission University: Niche ranks it #2165 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 68 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 100.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $3,370; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    Not reported
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    Not reported
    6-yr graduation rate
    100.0%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#2165 of 2,605

    68 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 83 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare the West against these