Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Washburn University

Students comparing Washburn University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Topeka, Kansas4,562 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 46Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

Washburn University: U.S. News ranks it #82 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #850 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #837 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 4,562 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 53.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $20,949; aid recipients pay $15,280 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $49,774.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Washburn University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$15,280

53% below the $32,450 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$49,774

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
53.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$18,127

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedWashburn University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Washburn University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (Midwest)#82of 165Regional univ. (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#850of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#837of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Washburn University's position moves 24 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Washburn University

Washburn University is a public institution in Topeka, Kansas. Federal data show 68.0% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,280 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $32,450 sticker cost against $15,280 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Washburn University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$9,945

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$20,949

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$11,501

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $32,450 a year, but the average family pays $15,280 — a 53% difference. 33.6% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Washburn University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    68.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    4,562

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Washburn University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $20,949 and on-campus room and board is $11,501, for a published total of $32,450 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,280.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Northeastern Illinois University

    Chicago, ILPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Northeastern Illinois University: U.S. News ranks it #148 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #211 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #324 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #396 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,982 undergraduates, admits 74.6% of applicants, and posts a 21.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,726; aid recipients pay $14,109 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,234.

    Acceptance rate
    74.6%
    Average net price
    $14,109
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,234
    6-yr graduation rate
    21.6%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#148 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#211 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#324 of 500+1 more on profile

    3,982 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Wichita State University

    Wichita, KSPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Wichita State University: U.S. News ranks it #273 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #361 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #397 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #455 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 10,780 undergraduates, admits 94.0% of applicants, and posts a 51.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,869; aid recipients pay $13,194 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,532.

    Acceptance rate
    94.0%
    Average net price
    $13,194
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,532
    6-yr graduation rate
    51.0%
    US News · National universities#273 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#361 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#397 of 500+1 more on profile

    10,780 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 46 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Nebraska at Omaha

    Omaha, NEPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Nebraska at Omaha: U.S. News ranks it #301 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #468 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #171 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #433 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 11,488 undergraduates, admits 87.0% of applicants, and posts a 47.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $23,206; aid recipients pay $13,441 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,909.

    Acceptance rate
    87.0%
    Average net price
    $13,441
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,909
    6-yr graduation rate
    47.1%
    US News · National universities#301 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#468 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#171 of 1,504+1 more on profile

    11,488 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 48 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Washburn University against these