Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Wilson College

Students comparing Wilson College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Chambersburg, Pennsylvania865 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 68Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Wilson College: Washington Monthly ranks it #1236 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1406 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 865 undergraduates, admits 92.1% of applicants, and posts a 48.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,100; aid recipients pay $21,741 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $43,326.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
92.1%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$21,741

45% below the $39,396 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$43,326

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
48.1%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$26,328

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
930–1180

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Wilson ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1236of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1406of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Wilson's position moves 28 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Wilson

Wilson College is a private nonprofit institution in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. Federal data show 74.5% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $21,741 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $39,396 sticker cost against $21,741 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Wilson College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$27,100

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
23.5%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$12,296

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $39,396 a year, but the average family pays $21,741 — a 45% difference. 23.5% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Wilson's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    74.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    865

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Wilson: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $27,100 and on-campus room and board is $12,296, for a published total of $39,396 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $21,741.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 92.1%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Moore College of Art and Design

    Philadelphia, PAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Moore College of Art and Design: Washington Monthly ranks it #1210 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1445 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 535 undergraduates, admits 56.5% of applicants, and posts a 57.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $52,812; aid recipients pay $43,086 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,839.

    Acceptance rate
    56.5%
    Average net price
    $43,086
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,839
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.1%
    Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1210 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1445 of 2,605

    535 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 68 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of New England

    Biddeford, MEPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of New England: U.S. News ranks it #293 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1368 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1191 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,135 undergraduates, admits 91.6% of applicants, and posts a 68.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $44,210; aid recipients pay $38,107 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,921.

    Acceptance rate
    91.6%
    Average net price
    $38,107
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,921
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.3%
    US News · National universities#293 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1368 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1191 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    2,135 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 68 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Montserrat College of Art

    Beverly, MAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Montserrat College of Art: U.S. News ranks it #28 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1464 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1701 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 226 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 53.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $40,690; aid recipients pay $33,216 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $33,022.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $33,216
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $33,022
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.5%
    US News · Regional colleges (North)#28 of 68Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1464 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1701 of 2,605

    226 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 68 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Wilson against these