Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

Central State University

Students comparing Central State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Wilberforce, Ohio2,620 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 71HBCUPublic universitySmall enrollment

The short answer

Central State University: U.S. News ranks it #65 on Regional Colleges (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1371 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1395 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,620 undergraduates, admits 98.6% of applicants, and posts a 22.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $10,058; aid recipients pay $13,096 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $33,267.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
98.6%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$13,096

41% below the $22,084 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$33,267

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
22.8%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$30,739

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedCentral State University reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Central State ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (Midwest)#65of 94Regional colleges (Midwest)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1371of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1395of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Central State's position moves 38 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Central State

Central State University is a public institution in Wilberforce, Ohio. Federal data show 55.9% first-year retention and a 17:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $13,096 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $22,084 sticker cost against $13,096 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Central State University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$8,058

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$10,058

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$12,026

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $22,084 a year, but the average family pays $13,096 — a 41% difference. 52.7% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Central State's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    17:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    55.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,620

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Central State: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $10,058 and on-campus room and board is $12,026, for a published total of $22,084 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $13,096.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 98.6%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    West Virginia State University

    Institute, WVPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    West Virginia State University: U.S. News ranks it #104 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1441 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1051 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2.5 stars. It enrolls 1,321 undergraduates, admits 96.0% of applicants, and posts a 39.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $14,990; aid recipients pay $11,139 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,492.

    Acceptance rate
    96.0%
    Average net price
    $11,139
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $40,492
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#104 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1441 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1051 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,321 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 71 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Savannah State University

    Savannah, GAPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Savannah State University: U.S. News ranks it #112 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #688 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #488 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #778 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,833 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 28.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $19,043; aid recipients pay $8,172 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,981.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $8,172
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $37,981
    6-yr graduation rate
    28.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#112 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#688 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#488 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,833 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Dakota State University

    Madison, SDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Dakota State University: U.S. News ranks it #91 on Regional Universities (Midwest) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1438 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #492 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #767 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,071 undergraduates, admits 88.0% of applicants, and posts a 51.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $12,756; aid recipients pay $21,057 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $50,970.

    Acceptance rate
    88.0%
    Average net price
    $21,057
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $50,970
    6-yr graduation rate
    51.3%
    US News · Regional univ. (Midwest)#91 of 165Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1438 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#492 of 500+1 more on profile

    2,071 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 70 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Central State against these