Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science

Students comparing Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Los Angeles, California282 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 59Private nonprofitSelectiveSmall enrollment

The short answer

Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science: Niche ranks it #1532 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 282 undergraduates, admits 38.7% of applicants, and posts a 29.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $23,000; aid recipients pay $35,558 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $83,438.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
38.7%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$35,558

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$83,438

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
29.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$18,750

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedCharles R Drew University of Medicine and Science reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Charles R ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1532of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Charles R

Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science is a private nonprofit institution in Los Angeles, California. Federal data show 50.0% first-year retention and a 4:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $35,558 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $35,558 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$23,000

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
53.6%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Charles R Drew University of Medicine and Science in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Charles R's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    4:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    50.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    282

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Charles R: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $23,000 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $35,558.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 38.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Bethany Lutheran College

    Mankato, MNPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Bethany Lutheran College: U.S. News ranks it #147 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1191 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #722 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 669 undergraduates, admits 39.0% of applicants, and posts a 54.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,360; aid recipients pay $20,148 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,110.

    Acceptance rate
    39.0%
    Average net price
    $20,148
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,110
    6-yr graduation rate
    54.9%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#147 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1191 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#722 of 2,605

    669 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Brescia University

    Owensboro, KYPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Brescia University: U.S. News ranks it #36 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1316 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1583 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 545 undergraduates, admits 35.2% of applicants, and posts a 53.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,550; aid recipients pay $8,709 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $45,500.

    Acceptance rate
    35.2%
    Average net price
    $8,709
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $45,500
    6-yr graduation rate
    53.7%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#36 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1316 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1583 of 2,605

    545 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Saint Augustine's University

    Raleigh, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Saint Augustine's University: U.S. News ranks it #86 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1424 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 172 undergraduates, admits 33.8% of applicants, and posts a 25.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $16,896; aid recipients pay $24,313 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $35,730.

    Acceptance rate
    33.8%
    Average net price
    $24,313
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $35,730
    6-yr graduation rate
    25.0%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#86 of 131Niche · Overall (Niche)#1424 of 2,605

    172 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 60 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Charles R against these