Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

CUNY York College

Students comparing CUNY York College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Jamaica, New York4,345 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 55Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

CUNY York College: U.S. News ranks it #139 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #610 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1082 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 4,345 undergraduates, admits 64.1% of applicants, and posts a 32.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,308; aid recipients pay $4,456 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $56,945.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
64.1%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$4,456

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$56,945

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
32.3%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$11,000

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
790–960

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where CUNY York ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (North)#139of 170Regional univ. (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#610of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1082of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: CUNY York's position moves 41 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About CUNY York

CUNY York College is a public institution in Jamaica, New York. Federal data show 57.4% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $4,456 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $4,456 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing CUNY York College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$7,358

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$15,308

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by CUNY York College in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run CUNY York's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    57.4%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    4,345

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    CUNY York: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $15,308 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $4,456.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 64.1%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    College of Staten Island CUNY

    Staten Island, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    College of Staten Island CUNY: U.S. News ranks it #101 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Forbes ranks it #451 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #338 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1267 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 9,657 undergraduates, admits 92.3% of applicants, and posts a 33.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,440; aid recipients pay $5,579 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,501.

    Acceptance rate
    92.3%
    Average net price
    $5,579
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,501
    6-yr graduation rate
    33.9%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#101 of 170Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#451 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#338 of 1,504+1 more on profile

    9,657 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 55 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    CUNY Medgar Evers College

    Brooklyn, NYPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    CUNY Medgar Evers College: U.S. News ranks it #181 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #342 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1281 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,233 undergraduates, admits 86.1% of applicants, and posts a 19.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $15,302; aid recipients pay $5,718 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,498.

    Acceptance rate
    86.1%
    Average net price
    $5,718
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,498
    6-yr graduation rate
    19.8%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#181 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#342 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1281 of 2,605

    3,233 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 53 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Cleveland State University

    Cleveland, OHPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Cleveland State University: U.S. News ranks it #343 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #264 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #687 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1422 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 8,969 undergraduates, admits 91.3% of applicants, and posts a 50.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $18,510; aid recipients pay $14,764 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,131.

    Acceptance rate
    91.3%
    Average net price
    $14,764
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,131
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.6%
    US News · National universities#343 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#264 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#687 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    8,969 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare CUNY York against these