Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas

Students comparing Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Barranquitas, PR937 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 59Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas: U.S. News ranks it #62 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Niche ranks it #1835 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 937 undergraduates, admits 86.0% of applicants, and posts a 38.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $5,742; aid recipients pay $8,726 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $23,204.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
86.0%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$8,726

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$23,204

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
38.0%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$5,200

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedInter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Inter American ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#62of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1835of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Inter American's position moves 23 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Inter American

Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas is a private nonprofit institution in Barranquitas, PR. Federal data show 73.2% first-year retention and a 23:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $8,726 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against $8,726 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$5,742

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
88.4%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Inter American's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    23:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    73.2%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    937

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Inter American: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $5,742 and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $8,726.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 86.0%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Centenary College of Louisiana

    Shreveport, LAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Centenary College of Louisiana: U.S. News ranks it #136 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1168 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #889 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 685 undergraduates, admits 55.7% of applicants, and posts a 56.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $41,200; aid recipients pay $23,624 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $50,330.

    Acceptance rate
    55.7%
    Average net price
    $23,624
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $50,330
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.2%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#136 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1168 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#889 of 2,605

    685 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Wingate University

    Wingate, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Wingate University: U.S. News ranks it #373 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #592 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1339 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,668 undergraduates, admits 91.1% of applicants, and posts a 46.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $41,636; aid recipients pay $20,748 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $52,649.

    Acceptance rate
    91.1%
    Average net price
    $20,748
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $52,649
    6-yr graduation rate
    46.4%
    US News · National universities#373 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#592 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1339 of 2,605

    2,668 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Shorter University

    Rome, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Shorter University: U.S. News ranks it #115 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #633 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1298 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,028 undergraduates, admits 96.5% of applicants, and posts a 37.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,630; aid recipients pay $16,646 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,604.

    Acceptance rate
    96.5%
    Average net price
    $16,646
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $44,604
    6-yr graduation rate
    37.7%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#115 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#633 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1298 of 2,605

    1,028 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Inter American against these