Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

John Brown University

Students comparing John Brown University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Siloam Springs, Arkansas1,471 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 37Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

John Brown University: U.S. News ranks it #12 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #717 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #358 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #546 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 1,471 undergraduates, admits 76.1% of applicants, and posts a 71.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,756; aid recipients pay $20,397 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,907.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
76.1%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$20,397

52% below the $42,118 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$53,907

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
71.8%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,250

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1070–1340

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where John Brown ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (South)#12of 135Regional univ. (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#717of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.#358of 500U.S. colleges (WSJ)
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#546of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges4 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: John Brown's position moves 63 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About John Brown

John Brown University is a private nonprofit institution in Siloam Springs, Arkansas. Federal data show 81.5% first-year retention and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $20,397 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $42,118 sticker cost against $20,397 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing John Brown University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$31,756

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
23.7%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$10,362

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $42,118 a year, but the average family pays $20,397 — a 52% difference. 23.7% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run John Brown's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    16:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    81.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,471

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    John Brown: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $31,756 and on-campus room and board is $10,362, for a published total of $42,118 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $20,397.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 76.1%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    McDaniel College

    Westminster, MDPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    McDaniel College: U.S. News ranks it #84 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #374 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #176 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #942 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #23 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 1,617 undergraduates, admits 77.9% of applicants, and posts a 63.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $52,081; aid recipients pay $21,916 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,663.

    Acceptance rate
    77.9%
    Average net price
    $21,916
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,663
    6-yr graduation rate
    63.3%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#84 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#374 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#176 of 500+3 more on profile

    1,617 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Rollins College

    Winter Park, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Rollins College: U.S. News ranks it #2 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Forbes ranks it #377 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #577 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #355 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #347 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 10 Health Services. It enrolls 2,631 undergraduates, admits 47.5% of applicants, and posts a 75.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $60,580; aid recipients pay $34,732 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $58,295.

    Acceptance rate
    47.5%
    Average net price
    $34,732
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $58,295
    6-yr graduation rate
    75.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#2 of 135Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#377 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#577 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    2,631 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 40 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Bob Jones University

    Greenville, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Bob Jones University: U.S. News ranks it #17 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #777 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #395 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #536 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 2,005 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 64.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,470; aid recipients pay $16,641 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,354.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $16,641
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $44,354
    6-yr graduation rate
    64.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#17 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#777 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#395 of 500+2 more on profile

    2,005 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 41 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare John Brown against these