Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Suburban campus · basic profile (federal data)

Naval Postgraduate School

Students comparing Naval Postgraduate School on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Monterey, CaliforniaNot reported undergraduatesPublic universityResearch university

The short answer

Naval Postgraduate School enrolls not reported undergraduates and admits not reported of applicants. Out-of-state tuition is not reported; aid recipients pay an average net price of not reported. Six-year graduation rate: not reported; median earnings ten years after entry: not reported. Rankings and long-form editorial for this school are being added for launch.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

6-year graduation rate
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedNaval Postgraduate School did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Naval Postgraduate ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

No 2026 ranking from a publisher we track appears for Naval Postgraduate yet. The three sources below are loaded for the full roster; when a row says not ranked by this source, that publisher simply does not include this school on a list we track — not that we are missing a number. Federal cost, admissions, graduation, earnings and debt on this profile are complete and citable.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Naval Postgraduate

Naval Postgraduate School is a public institution in Monterey, California. Federal data show not reported first-year retention and a not reported student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; verified publisher rankings will be added as the launch dataset is completed.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price not reported reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare not reported sticker cost against not reported net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Naval Postgraduate School on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Out-of-state tuition & fees
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Room & board
Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly Not reported a year. Not reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Naval Postgraduate's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    Not reportedNaval Postgraduate School did not report a student-faculty ratio in the IPEDS 2023 collection.

    IPEDS / National Center for Education Statistics

    First-year retention
    Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

    U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

    Undergraduate enrollment
    Not reportedNot reported by Naval Postgraduate School in the most recent federal collection.

    U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

    Naval Postgraduate: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is not reported and on-campus room and board is not reported, for a published total of not reported before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is not reported.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Adams State University

    Alamosa, COPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Adams State University: Washington Monthly ranks it #1035 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1288 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,250 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 39.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,944; aid recipients pay $12,980 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,372.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $12,980
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $44,372
    6-yr graduation rate
    39.4%
    Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1035 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1288 of 2,605

    1,250 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 59 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Arizona State University

    Tempe, AZPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Arizona State University: U.S. News ranks it #117 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #111 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #30 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #252 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #98 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #14 Best College Radio Station. It enrolls 64,674 undergraduates, admits 89.9% of applicants, and posts a 68.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $33,139; aid recipients pay $14,967 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $62,668.

    Acceptance rate
    89.9%
    Average net price
    $14,967
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $62,668
    6-yr graduation rate
    68.0%
    US News · National universities#117 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#111 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#30 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    64,674 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 21 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Boise State University

    Boise, IDPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Boise State University: U.S. News ranks it #301 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #483 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #749 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #480 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #463 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 17,674 undergraduates, admits 87.2% of applicants, and posts a 60.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,788; aid recipients pay $21,610 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,658.

    Acceptance rate
    87.2%
    Average net price
    $21,610
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $51,658
    6-yr graduation rate
    60.2%
    US News · National universities#301 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#483 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#749 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    17,674 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Naval Postgraduate against these