Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Rural campus · verified rankings · federal data

Norwich University

Students comparing Norwich University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Northfield, Vermont2,428 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 44Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Norwich University: U.S. News ranks it #101 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #573 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #890 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,428 undergraduates, admits 74.4% of applicants, and posts a 60.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $49,740; aid recipients pay $22,257 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $65,575.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
74.4%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$22,257

65% below the $64,420 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$65,575

Above the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
60.2%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$25,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1060–1320

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Norwich University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (North)#101of 170Regional univ. (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#573of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#890of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Norwich University's position moves 25 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Norwich University

Norwich University is a private nonprofit institution in Northfield, Vermont. Federal data show 79.3% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $22,257 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $64,420 sticker cost against $22,257 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Norwich University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$49,740

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
24.4%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$14,680

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $64,420 a year, but the average family pays $22,257 — a 65% difference. 24.4% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Norwich University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    79.3%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    2,428

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Norwich University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $49,740 and on-campus room and board is $14,680, for a published total of $64,420 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $22,257.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 74.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Washington & Jefferson College

    Washington, PAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Washington & Jefferson College: U.S. News ranks it #90 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #402 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #792 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #123 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #518 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,295 undergraduates, admits 80.6% of applicants, and posts a 69.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $29,392; aid recipients pay $25,002 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $67,918.

    Acceptance rate
    80.6%
    Average net price
    $25,002
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $67,918
    6-yr graduation rate
    69.5%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#90 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#402 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#792 of 1,504+4 more on profile

    1,295 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Drew University

    Madison, NJPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Drew University: U.S. News ranks it #83 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Forbes ranks it #412 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #471 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #606 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — Top 10 College Theater. It enrolls 1,533 undergraduates, admits 67.8% of applicants, and posts a 70.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $47,100; aid recipients pay $24,280 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $63,646.

    Acceptance rate
    67.8%
    Average net price
    $24,280
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $63,646
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.5%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#83 of 210Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#412 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#471 of 1,504+3 more on profile

    1,533 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    St. Francis College

    Brooklyn, NYPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    St. Francis College: U.S. News ranks it #18 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #916 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1185 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,684 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 54.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,775; aid recipients pay $18,129 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $58,099.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $18,129
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $58,099
    6-yr graduation rate
    54.6%
    US News · Regional colleges (North)#18 of 68Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#916 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1185 of 2,605

    1,684 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Norwich University against these