Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Patrick Henry College

Students comparing Patrick Henry College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Purcellville, Virginia395 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 63Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Patrick Henry College: U.S. News ranks it #136 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Niche ranks it #1599 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 395 undergraduates, admits 77.4% of applicants, and posts a 73.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,425; aid recipients pay not reported on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
77.4%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
Not reportedPatrick Henry College does not participate in federal student aid programs, so the Department of Education does not calculate an average net price for it. Compare its published cost of attendance against other schools' net prices with care: they are not the same measure.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Median earnings, 10 yrs
Not reportedScorecard earnings are derived from federal student aid records, which Patrick Henry College students do not appear in. No federal earnings figure exists for this college.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

6-year graduation rate
73.9%

Above the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
Not reportedPatrick Henry College students cannot borrow federal student loans, because the college does not participate in federal student aid programs. Its reported federal loan debt is therefore zero by construction rather than by outcome.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

SAT middle 50%
1240–1420

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Patrick Henry ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National Liberal Arts Colleges#136of 210Liberal arts colleges
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1599of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Patrick Henry's position moves 3 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Patrick Henry

Patrick Henry College is a private nonprofit institution in Purcellville, Virginia. Federal data show 87.5% first-year retention and a 14:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price not reported reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $39,445 sticker cost against not reported net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Patrick Henry College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$28,425

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
Not reportedThis share is calculated from federal student aid applications, which Patrick Henry College does not participate in.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Room & board
$11,020

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $39,445 a year. Patrick Henry College does not participate in federal student aid programs, so the Department of Education does not calculate an average net price for it. Compare its published cost of attendance against other schools' net prices with care: they are not the same measure.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Patrick Henry's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    14:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    87.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    395

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Patrick Henry: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $28,425 and on-campus room and board is $11,020, for a published total of $39,445 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is not reported.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 77.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Oral Roberts University

    Tulsa, OKPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Oral Roberts University: U.S. News ranks it #76 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1315 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #428 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #365 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,487 undergraduates, admits 98.9% of applicants, and posts a 56.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $35,470; aid recipients pay $25,365 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,885.

    Acceptance rate
    98.9%
    Average net price
    $25,365
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,885
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#76 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1315 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#428 of 500+1 more on profile

    3,487 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 63 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Hampton University

    Hampton, VAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Hampton University: U.S. News ranks it #273 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1227 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1192 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,727 undergraduates, admits 62.3% of applicants, and posts a 57.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $30,592; aid recipients pay $25,319 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $59,159.

    Acceptance rate
    62.3%
    Average net price
    $25,319
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $59,159
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.2%
    US News · National universities#273 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1227 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1192 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    3,727 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 63 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Truett McConnell University

    Cleveland, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Truett McConnell University: U.S. News ranks it #57 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1496 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1229 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 744 undergraduates, admits 78.3% of applicants, and posts a 37.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $26,792; aid recipients pay $22,227 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,700.

    Acceptance rate
    78.3%
    Average net price
    $22,227
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,700
    6-yr graduation rate
    37.8%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#57 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1496 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1229 of 2,605

    744 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 63 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Patrick Henry against these