Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

Rust College

Students comparing Rust College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Holly Springs, Mississippi467 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 69HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Rust College: Washington Monthly ranks it #1267 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1419 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 467 undergraduates, admits 48.7% of applicants, and posts a 11.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,265; aid recipients pay $12,587 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $32,275.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
48.7%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$12,587

35% below the $19,482 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$32,275

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
11.8%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$26,159

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedRust College reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Rust ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1267of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1419of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Rust's position moves 30 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Rust

Rust College is a private nonprofit institution in Holly Springs, Mississippi. Federal data show 84.4% first-year retention and a 11:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $12,587 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $19,482 sticker cost against $12,587 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Rust College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$13,265

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
71.5%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$6,217

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $19,482 a year, but the average family pays $12,587 — a 35% difference. 71.5% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Rust's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    11:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    84.4%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    467

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Rust: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $13,265 and on-campus room and board is $6,217, for a published total of $19,482 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $12,587.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 48.7%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Miles College

    Fairfield, ALPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Miles College: U.S. News ranks it #83 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1334 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1468 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,155 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 15.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $13,314; aid recipients pay $14,271 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $32,627.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $14,271
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $32,627
    6-yr graduation rate
    15.8%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#83 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1334 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1468 of 2,605

    1,155 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 69 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Clark Atlanta University

    Atlanta, GAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Clark Atlanta University: U.S. News ranks it #329 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #992 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #489 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #1353 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars. It enrolls 3,603 undergraduates, admits 64.2% of applicants, and posts a 49.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,310; aid recipients pay $37,702 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,712.

    Acceptance rate
    64.2%
    Average net price
    $37,702
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,712
    6-yr graduation rate
    49.0%
    US News · National universities#329 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#992 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#489 of 500+2 more on profile

    3,603 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 73 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Benedict College

    Columbia, SCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Benedict College: U.S. News ranks it #80 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1256 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1384 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,536 undergraduates, admits 95.7% of applicants, and posts a 24.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,440; aid recipients pay $18,250 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $31,902.

    Acceptance rate
    95.7%
    Average net price
    $18,250
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $31,902
    6-yr graduation rate
    24.3%
    US News · Regional colleges (South)#80 of 131Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1256 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1384 of 2,605

    1,536 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Rust against these