Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Suburban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Southern Nazarene University

Students comparing Southern Nazarene University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Bethany, Oklahoma1,455 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 37Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Southern Nazarene University: U.S. News ranks it #64 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #421 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #715 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 1,455 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 50.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,190; aid recipients pay $22,084 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $54,951.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Southern Nazarene University in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$22,084

46% below the $40,664 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$54,951

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
50.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,900

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedSouthern Nazarene University did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Southern Nazarene ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Universities (West)#64of 118Regional univ. (West)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#421of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#715of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value Colleges4.5 starsListedBest value (Money)
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Southern Nazarene's position moves 27 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Southern Nazarene

Southern Nazarene University is a private nonprofit institution in Bethany, Oklahoma. Federal data show 72.9% first-year retention and a 11:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $22,084 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $40,664 sticker cost against $22,084 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Southern Nazarene University on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$31,190

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
47.0%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,474

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $40,664 a year, but the average family pays $22,084 — a 46% difference. 47.0% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Southern Nazarene's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    11:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    72.9%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    1,455

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Southern Nazarene: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $31,190 and on-campus room and board is $9,474, for a published total of $40,664 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $22,084.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Florida Southern College

    Lakeland, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Florida Southern College: U.S. News ranks it #11 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1042 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #832 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #19 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 2,656 undergraduates, admits 64.4% of applicants, and posts a 70.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $44,040; aid recipients pay $28,551 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,294.

    Acceptance rate
    64.4%
    Average net price
    $28,551
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,294
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#11 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1042 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#832 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    2,656 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    McDaniel College

    Westminster, MDPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    McDaniel College: U.S. News ranks it #84 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #374 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #176 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #942 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #23 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 1,617 undergraduates, admits 77.9% of applicants, and posts a 63.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $52,081; aid recipients pay $21,916 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,663.

    Acceptance rate
    77.9%
    Average net price
    $21,916
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $60,663
    6-yr graduation rate
    63.3%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#84 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#374 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#176 of 500+3 more on profile

    1,617 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    John Brown University

    Siloam Springs, ARPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    John Brown University: U.S. News ranks it #12 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #717 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #358 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #546 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 1,471 undergraduates, admits 76.1% of applicants, and posts a 71.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,756; aid recipients pay $20,397 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,907.

    Acceptance rate
    76.1%
    Average net price
    $20,397
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,907
    6-yr graduation rate
    71.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#12 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#717 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#358 of 500+2 more on profile

    1,471 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 37 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Southern Nazarene against these