Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Public · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Students comparing University of Colorado Colorado Springs on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Colorado Springs, Colorado8,697 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 46Public universityUrban campusResearch university

The short answer

University of Colorado Colorado Springs: Niche ranks it #1198 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 8,697 undergraduates, admits 97.4% of applicants, and posts a 46.9% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $24,336; aid recipients pay $15,788 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $54,659.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
97.4%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$15,788

58% below the $37,254 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$54,659

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
46.9%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$20,000

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1010–1220

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where Colorado Colorado Springs ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1198of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Colorado Colorado Springs

University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a public institution in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Federal data show 68.3% first-year retention and a 15:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $15,788 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $37,254 sticker cost against $15,788 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of Colorado Colorado Springs on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

In-state tuition & fees
$10,149

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Out-of-state tuition & fees
$24,336

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$12,918

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $37,254 a year, but the average family pays $15,788 — a 58% difference. 27.3% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Colorado Colorado Springs's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    15:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    68.3%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    8,697

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Colorado Colorado Springs: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $24,336 and on-campus room and board is $12,918, for a published total of $37,254 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $15,788.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 97.4%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Portland State University

    Portland, ORPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Portland State University: U.S. News ranks it #222 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #252 on America's Top Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #96 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #337 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #315 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); QS ranks it #1281 on World University Rankings (2026). It enrolls 13,182 undergraduates, admits 90.9% of applicants, and posts a 52.7% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,074; aid recipients pay $9,552 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,906.

    Acceptance rate
    90.9%
    Average net price
    $9,552
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $57,906
    6-yr graduation rate
    52.7%
    US News · National universities#222 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#252 of 500Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#96 of 1,504+5 more on profile

    13,182 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 45 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Montana State University Billings

    Billings, MTPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Montana State University Billings: Niche ranks it #1155 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 2,626 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 30.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $22,897; aid recipients pay $16,524 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,296.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $16,524
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $44,296
    6-yr graduation rate
    30.0%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#1155 of 2,605

    2,626 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 44 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    University of Nevada-Las Vegas

    Las Vegas, NVPublic

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    University of Nevada-Las Vegas: U.S. News ranks it #232 on National Universities (2026); Forbes ranks it #335 on America's Top Colleges (2026); WSJ ranks it #292 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #340 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 24,622 undergraduates, admits 96.2% of applicants, and posts a 50.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $27,411; aid recipients pay $10,359 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,037.

    Acceptance rate
    96.2%
    Average net price
    $10,359
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,037
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.5%
    US News · National universities#232 of 436Forbes · Top colleges (Forbes)#335 of 500WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#292 of 500+1 more on profile

    24,622 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 48 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Colorado Colorado Springs against these