Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Virginia University of Lynchburg

Students comparing Virginia University of Lynchburg on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Lynchburg, Virginia125 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 64HBCUPrivate nonprofitSmall enrollment

The short answer

Virginia University of Lynchburg: Washington Monthly ranks it #972 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1649 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 125 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 37.6% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $11,360; aid recipients pay $21,253 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $28,396.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
Not reportedNot reported by Virginia University of Lynchburg in the most recent federal collection.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Average net price
$21,253

-2% below the $20,760 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$28,396

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
37.6%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$24,250

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedVirginia University of Lynchburg did not report an SAT score range for its most recent entering class.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Virginia University ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#972of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1649of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Virginia University's position moves 1 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is unusually stable — its standing barely depends on whose formula you use. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Virginia University

Virginia University of Lynchburg is a private nonprofit institution in Lynchburg, Virginia. Federal data show 75.0% first-year retention and a 12:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $21,253 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $20,760 sticker cost against $21,253 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Virginia University of Lynchburg on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$11,360

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
74.7%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,400

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $20,760 a year, but the average family pays $21,253 — a -2% difference. 74.7% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Virginia University's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    12:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    75.0%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    125

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Virginia University: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $11,360 and on-campus room and board is $9,400, for a published total of $20,760 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $21,253.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is not reported. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Johnson C Smith University

    Charlotte, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Johnson C Smith University: U.S. News ranks it #175 on National Liberal Arts Colleges (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1087 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #978 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2.5 stars. It enrolls 1,244 undergraduates, admits 45.2% of applicants, and posts a 34.3% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $21,300; aid recipients pay $20,894 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,680.

    Acceptance rate
    45.2%
    Average net price
    $20,894
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $42,680
    6-yr graduation rate
    34.3%
    US News · Liberal arts colleges#175 of 210Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1087 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#978 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,244 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Shaw University

    Raleigh, NCPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Shaw University: Washington Monthly ranks it #1091 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1467 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 875 undergraduates, admits 80.2% of applicants, and posts a 21.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $17,538; aid recipients pay $16,512 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,409.

    Acceptance rate
    80.2%
    Average net price
    $16,512
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $34,409
    6-yr graduation rate
    21.8%
    Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1091 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1467 of 2,605

    875 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Hampton University

    Hampton, VAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Hampton University: U.S. News ranks it #273 on National Universities (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1227 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1192 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 2 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 3,727 undergraduates, admits 62.3% of applicants, and posts a 57.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $30,592; aid recipients pay $25,319 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $59,159.

    Acceptance rate
    62.3%
    Average net price
    $25,319
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $59,159
    6-yr graduation rate
    57.2%
    US News · National universities#273 of 436Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1227 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1192 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    3,727 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 63 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Virginia University against these