Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Urban campus · verified rankings · federal data

Pacific Northwest College of Art

Students comparing Pacific Northwest College of Art on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Portland, Oregon420 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 66Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentUrban campus

The short answer

Pacific Northwest College of Art: Niche ranks it #1721 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 420 undergraduates, admits 74.9% of applicants, and posts a 29.1% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $49,006; aid recipients pay $35,785 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,883.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
74.9%

About the dataset median

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$35,785

48% below the $68,766 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$34,883

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
29.1%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$25,000

Below the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedPacific Northwest College of Art reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Pacific Northwest ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026National universities, liberal arts, regional and specialty listsNot ranked by this source
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) DollarsNot ranked by this source
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1721of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest College of Art is a private nonprofit institution in Portland, Oregon. Federal data show 69.5% first-year retention and a 9:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $35,785 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $68,766 sticker cost against $35,785 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Pacific Northwest College of Art on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$49,006

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
40.5%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$19,760

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $68,766 a year, but the average family pays $35,785 — a 48% difference. 40.5% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Pacific Northwest's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    9:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    69.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    420

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Pacific Northwest: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $49,006 and on-campus room and board is $19,760, for a published total of $68,766 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $35,785.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 74.9%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Providence Christian College

    Pasadena, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Providence Christian College: Niche ranks it #1708 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 168 undergraduates, admits 100.0% of applicants, and posts a 20.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $36,963; aid recipients pay $25,163 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $46,264.

    Acceptance rate
    100.0%
    Average net price
    $25,163
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $46,264
    6-yr graduation rate
    20.0%
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#1708 of 2,605

    168 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 66 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Bushnell University

    Eugene, ORPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Bushnell University: U.S. News ranks it #70 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1071 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1627 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 517 undergraduates, admits 67.3% of applicants, and posts a 56.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $35,800; aid recipients pay $20,789 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,623.

    Acceptance rate
    67.3%
    Average net price
    $20,789
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,623
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#70 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1071 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1627 of 2,605

    517 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 64 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Reach University

    Oakland, CAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Reach University: Niche ranks it #1802 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 1,946 undergraduates, admits 100.0% of applicants, and posts a not reported six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $12,374; aid recipients pay $22,423 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: not reported.

    Acceptance rate
    100.0%
    Average net price
    $22,423
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    Not reported
    6-yr graduation rate
    Not reported
    Niche · Overall (Niche)#1802 of 2,605

    1,946 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 69 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Pacific Northwest against these