Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Town campus · verified rankings · federal data

University of the Ozarks

Students comparing University of the Ozarks on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Clarksville, Arkansas767 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 37Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

University of the Ozarks: U.S. News ranks it #4 on Regional Colleges (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1278 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #633 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 767 undergraduates, admits 59.5% of applicants, and posts a 51.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $25,950; aid recipients pay $17,360 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $44,384.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
59.5%

Below the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$17,360

51% below the $35,553 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$44,384

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
51.5%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$20,875

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
1020–1160

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardSum of reported reading and math section percentiles for the most recent entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release. Section percentiles added together approximate, but do not exactly equal, the composite score range.

Where the Ozarks ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (South)#4of 131Regional colleges (South)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#1278of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)B#633of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: the Ozarks's position moves 82 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About the Ozarks

University of the Ozarks is a private nonprofit institution in Clarksville, Arkansas. Federal data show 68.6% first-year retention and a 13:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $17,360 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $35,553 sticker cost against $17,360 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing University of the Ozarks on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$25,950

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
39.8%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,603

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $35,553 a year, but the average family pays $17,360 — a 51% difference. 39.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run the Ozarks's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    13:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    68.6%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    767

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    the Ozarks: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $25,950 and on-campus room and board is $9,603, for a published total of $35,553 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $17,360.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 59.5%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    John Brown University

    Siloam Springs, ARPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    John Brown University: U.S. News ranks it #12 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #717 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); WSJ ranks it #358 on Best Colleges in the U.S. (2026); Niche ranks it #546 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4 stars. It enrolls 1,471 undergraduates, admits 76.1% of applicants, and posts a 71.8% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,756; aid recipients pay $20,397 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,907.

    Acceptance rate
    76.1%
    Average net price
    $20,397
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,907
    6-yr graduation rate
    71.8%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#12 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#717 of 1,504WSJ · U.S. colleges (WSJ)#358 of 500+2 more on profile

    1,471 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 37 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Southern Nazarene University

    Bethany, OKPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Southern Nazarene University: U.S. News ranks it #64 on Regional Universities (West) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #421 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #715 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 4.5 stars. It enrolls 1,455 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 50.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $31,190; aid recipients pay $22,084 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $54,951.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $22,084
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $54,951
    6-yr graduation rate
    50.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (West)#64 of 118Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#421 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#715 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,455 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 37 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Florida Southern College

    Lakeland, FLPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Florida Southern College: U.S. News ranks it #11 on Regional Universities (South) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1042 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #832 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars; Princeton Review lists it on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026) — #19 Great Outdoors: Students Get Outside. It enrolls 2,656 undergraduates, admits 64.4% of applicants, and posts a 70.5% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $44,040; aid recipients pay $28,551 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $55,294.

    Acceptance rate
    64.4%
    Average net price
    $28,551
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $55,294
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.5%
    US News · Regional univ. (South)#11 of 135Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1042 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#832 of 2,605+2 more on profile

    2,656 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 36 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare the Ozarks against these