Skip to content
Best College Rankings

Private nonprofit · Small city campus · verified rankings · federal data

Villa Maria College

Students comparing Villa Maria College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

Buffalo, New York603 undergraduatesMean consensus percentile 53Private nonprofitSmall enrollmentResearch university

The short answer

Villa Maria College: U.S. News ranks it #48 on Regional Colleges (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #689 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1102 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026). It enrolls 603 undergraduates, admits 86.6% of applicants, and posts a 31.4% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $28,670; aid recipients pay $13,494 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $38,857.

The six numbers that matter most

Acceptance rate
86.6%

Above the dataset median of 76%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported entering class, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Average net price
$13,494

65% below the $38,290 published price

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardAverage for full-time first-time aid recipients, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median earnings, 10 yrs
$38,857

Below the dataset median of $54,053

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian earnings 10 years after entry, working and not enrolled, College Scorecard June 2026 release

6-year graduation rate
31.4%

Below the dataset median of 56%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent six-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Median debt at graduation
$21,250

Above the dataset median of $23,250

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMedian federal loan debt of completers, College Scorecard June 2026 release

SAT middle 50%
Not reportedVilla Maria College reports that it neither requires nor recommends admissions test scores, and does not report a score range to the Department of Education.

U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard

Where Villa Maria ranks, and why the answers differ

Each publisher's position, the list it belongs to, and how many institutions it was drawn from.

SourceListRank
US News2026Regional Colleges (North)#48of 68Regional colleges (North)
Forbes2026America's Top CollegesNot ranked by this source
Washington Monthly2026Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars#689of 1,504Tuition & tax value (WM)
WSJ2026Best Colleges in the U.S.Not ranked by this source
Niche2026Best Colleges (Overall)#1102of 2,605Overall (Niche)
Money2026Best Value CollegesNot ranked by this source
Princeton Review2026Best Colleges (Overall)Not ranked by this source
QS2026World University RankingsNot ranked by this source

Methodology sensitivity: Villa Maria's position moves 28 percentile points depending on which published list you read. That is a wide spread, so which list you consult substantially changes the impression you get. How we compute this

Ranking positions are the editorial property of their publishers and are reproduced here with attribution for comparison and commentary. Follow each source link for its full list and methodology.

About Villa Maria

Villa Maria College is a private nonprofit institution in Buffalo, New York. Federal data show 76.5% first-year retention and a 9:1 student-faculty ratio. Figures on this page come from College Scorecard and IPEDS; publisher rankings shown here are transcribed from named sources and checked in our dataset.

Strengths and honest considerations

Strengths

  • Cost and outcome metrics on this profile come directly from federal collections, not self-reported marketing sheets.
  • Net price $13,494 reflects what aid recipients actually paid in the most recent federal reporting year.

Considerations

  • This school may not appear on every publisher list we track; an empty rankings table means no tracked publisher ranked it, not missing federal data.
  • Compare $38,290 sticker cost against $13,494 net price before ruling a school in or out on price alone.
  • Publishers we have not loaded yet, or lists that omit this school, show as “not ranked by this source” — that is expected.

Who this school genuinely fits

Students comparing Villa Maria College on federal cost, completion, and earnings data who will layer in fit, location, and program strength separately.

What it costs

Published price, then what families actually pay after grants and scholarships.

Tuition & fees
$28,670

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Undergraduates on Pell grants
64.8%

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardShare of undergraduates, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Room & board
$9,620

U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported academic year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

Published cost of attendance comes to roughly $38,290 a year, but the average family pays $13,494 — a 65% difference. 64.8% of undergraduates receive Pell grants, the federal marker of low family income.

Net price varies enormously by income band, so run Villa Maria's net price calculator for your own household before drawing conclusions. Why net price is the only cost number that matters.

Programs and academics

Most popular majors

  1. 1Business
  2. 2Biology
  3. 3Psychology
  4. 4Computer Science
  5. 5Economics

Standout programs

    Student-faculty ratio
    9:1

    IPEDS / National Center for Education StatisticsIPEDS 2023 fall enrollment

    First-year retention
    76.5%

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent first-year cohort, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Undergraduate enrollment
    603

    U.S. Dept. of Education College ScorecardMost recent reported year, College Scorecard June 2026 release

    Villa Maria: questions families ask

    Out-of-state tuition is $28,670 and on-campus room and board is $9,620, for a published total of $38,290 before aid. The average net price for first-time full-time students receiving aid is $13,494.

    The most recent federal admissions rate reported to the Department of Education is 86.6%. Test policy as reported in IPEDS: see the admissions section on this page for the institution's own category.

    Similar colleges

    Matched on institutional character, overlapping majors and comparable cross-source standing.

    Felician University

    Lodi, NJPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Felician University: U.S. News ranks it #115 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #674 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1170 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 1,774 undergraduates, admits not reported of applicants, and posts a 47.2% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $39,300; aid recipients pay $40,045 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $57,602.

    Acceptance rate
    Not reported
    Average net price
    $40,045
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $57,602
    6-yr graduation rate
    47.2%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#115 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#674 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1170 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    1,774 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 52 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Merrimack College

    North Andover, MAPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Merrimack College: U.S. News ranks it #39 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #1308 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1336 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3 stars. It enrolls 3,916 undergraduates, admits 70.0% of applicants, and posts a 70.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $53,962; aid recipients pay $37,927 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $75,584.

    Acceptance rate
    70.0%
    Average net price
    $37,927
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $75,584
    6-yr graduation rate
    70.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#39 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#1308 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1336 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    3,916 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Centenary University

    Hackettstown, NJPrivate nonprofit

    Verified publisher rankings · federal data

    Centenary University: U.S. News ranks it #97 on Regional Universities (North) (2026); Washington Monthly ranks it #761 on Best Colleges for Your Tuition (and Tax) Dollars (2026); Niche ranks it #1396 on Best Colleges (Overall) (2026); Money lists it on Best Value Colleges (2026) — 3.5 stars. It enrolls 910 undergraduates, admits 83.1% of applicants, and posts a 56.0% six-year graduation rate. Out-of-state tuition is $37,732; aid recipients pay $20,503 on average. Median earnings ten years after entry: $53,726.

    Acceptance rate
    83.1%
    Average net price
    $20,503
    Median earnings (10 yr)
    $53,726
    6-yr graduation rate
    56.0%
    US News · Regional univ. (North)#97 of 170Washington Monthly · Tuition & tax value (WM)#761 of 1,504Niche · Overall (Niche)#1396 of 2,605+1 more on profile

    910 undergraduates · mean consensus percentile 54 (across ranked lists; lower is better)

    Compare Villa Maria against these